Texas Sheet Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
The best homemade chocolate cake I have ever had, right down to the delectible frosting. It was gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
tested this with my coworkers at the police dept and it was devoured. All the comments were good, will definately make this again..... Dawn from Galesburg, Il
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
I've made this recipe for years, and it's by far, one of my favorites. I use buttermilk in place of the milk. Makes it even richer, and you have no idea that it's buttermilk when you eat it. So don't worry if you don't like buttermilk. Ya can't even tell! I promise it's worth the change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richview, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
This cake was so delicious and moist! Made my day. Thanks Sister Paula! You're an angel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
WOW what an incredible recipe. I thought I had messed it up somehow because it didn't rise, but it was the moistest, had the most wonderful flavor, everyone at work loved it and asks me to make it often. Thank you so much Sister Pemberton
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
I thought this cake was awesome. The only problem I had was with the frosting. When I brought it to a boil (the butter, milk and cocoa) it turned gritty and separated so that it looked like an oily, gritty mess. I threw that batch out and tried again, only to have the same thing happen. The third time I tried it, I did not bring the mixture to a boil, I just melted everything down and got it smooth then added the powdered sugar and went on with the rest of the recipe. Other than that, it's a great cake. It was very moist with a nice flavor, it was neat to serve and even transporting it was easy as the frosting didn't stick to the saran wrap once it set. I will definately keep this recipe and use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
This cake has a couple of different ingredients than I remember. The coffee adds a little something. As the youngest of five kids, this was a frequent birthday cake and potluck cake. It always went fast! I make it now because it's so easy. Highly recommend and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALL4MUTTZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
This was my first time making a Texas sheet cake. I used a jelly roll pan and it baked up beautifully. I followed the direction about putting the frosting on while the cake was still warm- and it ran everywhere- the countertop, the floor.... next time I will wait until I can spread it on, when the cake is cooler. But the taste was fabulous! Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
What a wonderfuklly easy and delcious cake! I's just like my Grandma's who just passed away this summer...I have searched her books and files from top to bottom for her version but to no avail! Thanks for bringing some great memories back to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
This is absolutely the best chocolate cake ever! I had so many compliments and requests for the recipe when I served it. Very moist, rich and slighty addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States