Texas Sheet Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
this was very good. The cake is very light, not an overpowering chocolate, so even with the fudge icing it is not too much chocolate. You do have to watch the icing though, I agree with an earlier reviewer who mentioned removing from heat when it is smooth and not quite boiling. If you let it boil the texture becomes grainy. I added the pecans on top of the warm icing so I could leave half of the cake without nuts for those who prefer it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
This is absolutely the best chocolate cake ever! I had so many compliments and requests for the recipe when I served it. Very moist, rich and slighty addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
What a wonderfuklly easy and delcious cake! I's just like my Grandma's who just passed away this summer...I have searched her books and files from top to bottom for her version but to no avail! Thanks for bringing some great memories back to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
This cake was so delicious and moist! Made my day. Thanks Sister Paula! You're an angel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
This was my first time making a Texas sheet cake. I used a jelly roll pan and it baked up beautifully. I followed the direction about putting the frosting on while the cake was still warm- and it ran everywhere- the countertop, the floor.... next time I will wait until I can spread it on, when the cake is cooler. But the taste was fabulous! Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2003
This cake has a couple of different ingredients than I remember. The coffee adds a little something. As the youngest of five kids, this was a frequent birthday cake and potluck cake. It always went fast! I make it now because it's so easy. Highly recommend and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALL4MUTTZ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Redford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2003
I made this with my grandson today.It is good,but I was a little disapointed with the texture.I thought it would be more moist,but it has a good choc. flavor and the frosting is good although very sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
I thought this cake was awesome. The only problem I had was with the frosting. When I brought it to a boil (the butter, milk and cocoa) it turned gritty and separated so that it looked like an oily, gritty mess. I threw that batch out and tried again, only to have the same thing happen. The third time I tried it, I did not bring the mixture to a boil, I just melted everything down and got it smooth then added the powdered sugar and went on with the rest of the recipe. Other than that, it's a great cake. It was very moist with a nice flavor, it was neat to serve and even transporting it was easy as the frosting didn't stick to the saran wrap once it set. I will definately keep this recipe and use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2003
The best homemade chocolate cake I have ever had, right down to the delectible frosting. It was gone in no time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Highlands Ranch, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
I've made this recipe for years, and it's by far, one of my favorites. I use buttermilk in place of the milk. Makes it even richer, and you have no idea that it's buttermilk when you eat it. So don't worry if you don't like buttermilk. Ya can't even tell! I promise it's worth the change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richview, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States