Texas Sheet Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
This cake is absolutely good. I have made this several times, everyone loves it. The key word is MOIST. At first I thought it would be hard to make, but it was just the opposite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AQUIETA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2007
Easy to make and a big hit at the BBQ. Took the previous advice of not boiling the frosting, and it came out just fine. No other changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Severna Park, Maryland, USA
Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
This was the first "homemade" cake I've ever made. For me, the frosting was a tad bit tricky-but that was more my lack of stovetop frosting skills rather than the recipe. I scorched the frosting and had to make a second batch. Once I got the frosting down--the cake was absolutely fantastic! What a great recipe..Thanks so much for posting it! Makes the perfect cake to send into the office for birthdays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2007
This is a lovely cake, very moist and chocolatey. However, I made it in a slightly smaller tin and added 2 extra tablespoons of cocoa. I also took note of what other reviews said with regards to the frosting separating when boiled, so I just heated until melted and it came out fine, everyone who tried it loved it.This will be a regular cake for my family now. Thank you for the recipe. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2007
My daughter made this and it turned a little dry, I think it cooked just a little too long and the icing needed to be doubled as there wasn't enough but it was very good! We think it might need a little more coffee in it too as we didn't taste that at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2007
Couldn't find the recipe I've used for years for a texas sheet cake - I'm glad cause this is waaaay better than the one I had! Very moist (the sour cream?) and I thought a great texture. Used new dark chocolate cocoa and instant coffee crystals in hot water - easy, easy, easy. Took to a big pot luck; lot of chocolate things and this was the only one that disappeared, despite being the largest pan. Try it - you'll like it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2007
I slowly simmered both the frosting and cocoa/coffee till a gentle boil. Then immediatly removed from the burner. Both the cake and frosting were perfect and the best chocolate cake I've made to date. The frosting is especially good as was the cake. I halved this recipe, to sample it, but will double it next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
Wow, this was good. I used a pan slightly larger than 13 x 9 and it worked well. One comment on the icing. I had to add quite a bit more milk for the right consistency. I put in the 6 Tbsp. and then ended up pouring more in from the container. I would guess it was at least another 6 Tbsp. I recommend just adding the milk in, stirring, until you get a nice spreadable consistency. I left the pecans out until after I spread the icing over the cake. Then just sprinkled pecans over half so my son who doesn't like nuts could enjoy it that way. LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful
Photo by Debbie Mowatt
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I loved this recipe! It was exactly the one I was searching for. A friend from a former job always made it and I never got the recipe from her. She did not want to give it out. So, I found this one and it sounded similar - all I had to go on was Texas Sheet Cake with coffee in the recipe. I loved it! It was a tad time consuming to make but worth it! Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Mowatt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA
Living In: Poolesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This was a fabulous cake that I took to a 4th of July bbq. It was incredibly simple. Very moist and rich without being sickly sweet. Two ladies stopped me at the door and asked me to bring 2 cakes next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Balaun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States