Texas Sheet Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by opus
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2015
I haven't made a cake in years, much less one from scratch. I accidentally used a 9X12 pan and the baking time increased for about 20 minutes. This was incredibly easy to make a reminds me of my home state, even though I'm a proud Tennesseean. Used almonds instead of the correct and traditional walnuts/pecan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2015
First time making this cake absolutely fabulous. The only change I made was to use 11/2cups of sugar. Super easy the family loved it. Thank you Paula Rose
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2015
This cake got rave reviews from our dinner group, one of whom is a native Texan. The reviews that cautioned about boiling the frosting were on target; recommend incorporating the confectioners sugar and vanilla (and cinnamon--I used about 1/2 teaspoon) using an electric mixer as soon as the chocolate and butter are smooth and fully blended. Pour the frosting on the cake while both are still hot. Perfect! I used a 9x13 pan, so it had to bake for about 42 minutes. Texture was perfect. Thanks for sharing, Paula. I'll make this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2015
Amazing cake, but listen to the review that tells you not to boil the frosting. The first time I made this, I thought to myself, "Oh, I'm a good cook, that person must have done something wrong, I'm going to follow the recipe" and then I ended up with a nasty pot of ruined oily chunky frosting. Heat and stir the frosting till everything just melts together and gets smooth, and then remove it from the heat and stir in the sugar. It's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2015
I used to make this cake all the time when my boys were growing up. They are now 35&32. I made this for dessert for dinner tonight with my step daughter, SIL and identical twin grandsons. My darling hubby loves chocolate cake with chocolate frosting.... today is the 3rd anniversary of his Mom's passing, and she would make a cake similar to this for my hubby. And I'm make Ricotta Gnocchi with a quick marinara sauce for dinner that I recently saw on The Kitchen (Food Network 1/31 2015). BUT I LOVE THIS CAKE... My boys called "Texas Cake".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen LeHew

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
The cake was a hit, especially the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This is a delicious recipe and I love the frosting. I baked this in a 9 x 13 inch pan and had to cook it about 20 minutes longer. This cake is very moist and I love the fudgy frosting. I added a dash of salt to the frosting and used about 3.5 cups of powdered sugar in all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Followed recipe as is but left out the pecans!!! Everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homer City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Hmm..I'm confused! The recipe is exactly the one I was looking for - the only difference being I do not use the nuts, I make my coffee *strong*, I do add 1 tsp of cinnamon to frosting and sometimes to the cake, and I poke holes in the cake with the end of a wooden spoon before pouring the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TABULADY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was very good, and I received lots of compliments on it. I was looking for a little more of the coffee/mocha taste, so I think next time I will use much STRONGER coffee (I used just plain brewed regular for drinking). I didn't work fast enough with the frosting and it started to set up a little before I got it spread good (kinda tore up the cake a little too)... so next time I think I will stir in the conf sugar right on the stove top and use a hand held mixer in the pan (I used my stand mixer this time, probably got too cool). I think I may add a little instant coffee to the frosting too? maybe? not sure... Over all a good recipe!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States