Texas Sheet Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
The cake was a hit, especially the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa G

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2014
This is a delicious recipe and I love the frosting. I baked this in a 9 x 13 inch pan and had to cook it about 20 minutes longer. This cake is very moist and I love the fudgy frosting. I added a dash of salt to the frosting and used about 3.5 cups of powdered sugar in all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Swainsboro, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Followed recipe as is but left out the pecans!!! Everyone loved it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottdale, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Homer City, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Hmm..I'm confused! The recipe is exactly the one I was looking for - the only difference being I do not use the nuts, I make my coffee *strong*, I do add 1 tsp of cinnamon to frosting and sometimes to the cake, and I poke holes in the cake with the end of a wooden spoon before pouring the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TABULADY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This was very good, and I received lots of compliments on it. I was looking for a little more of the coffee/mocha taste, so I think next time I will use much STRONGER coffee (I used just plain brewed regular for drinking). I didn't work fast enough with the frosting and it started to set up a little before I got it spread good (kinda tore up the cake a little too)... so next time I think I will stir in the conf sugar right on the stove top and use a hand held mixer in the pan (I used my stand mixer this time, probably got too cool). I think I may add a little instant coffee to the frosting too? maybe? not sure... Over all a good recipe!! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bev511

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
My friends frequently ask for this cake. They call it my "crack" cake because they say it is so addicting. Hazelnut or French Vanilla coffee work really well and give the cake a very nice flavor and the sour cream gives it a nice, moist texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2008
This is yummy! I have made Texas sheet cake in the past but a different recipe. I think the coffee brings out the chocolate taste and it is fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2008
This recipe is good. I could taste the coffee and did not feel it belonged. I also tried the reviewer's suggestion of cinnamon, maybe 1/2 tsp. would be better than 1 tsp. Over all, people liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2008
This was good but, only 4 stars good. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
Fantastic recipe! I've made Texas Sheet Cake for years, but decided last night to try out this recipe - I'm throwing out my old one! Everyone at the church dinner raved about this. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belpre, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States