Texas Sheet Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2003
I thought this cake was awesome. The only problem I had was with the frosting. When I brought it to a boil (the butter, milk and cocoa) it turned gritty and separated so that it looked like an oily, gritty mess. I threw that batch out and tried again, only to have the same thing happen. The third time I tried it, I did not bring the mixture to a boil, I just melted everything down and got it smooth then added the powdered sugar and went on with the rest of the recipe. Other than that, it's a great cake. It was very moist with a nice flavor, it was neat to serve and even transporting it was easy as the frosting didn't stick to the saran wrap once it set. I will definately keep this recipe and use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2002
I've made this recipe for years, and it's by far, one of my favorites. I use buttermilk in place of the milk. Makes it even richer, and you have no idea that it's buttermilk when you eat it. So don't worry if you don't like buttermilk. Ya can't even tell! I promise it's worth the change!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon D

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richview, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2002
WOW what an incredible recipe. I thought I had messed it up somehow because it didn't rise, but it was the moistest, had the most wonderful flavor, everyone at work loved it and asks me to make it often. Thank you so much Sister Pemberton
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Very good....want it to taste authentic??? Add a tsp of cinnamon to the cake batter...and pan toast the pecans before adding them. Delicioso!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
My Aunt Tinie, a lifelong Okie, passed away a couple years ago, and no one in the family has been able to give me her chocolate sheet cake recipe (though I DID inherit her sewing machine). I remember well going down to visit her and Uncle Homer... She almost always made a cake like this. I remembered hers having a slight tinge of cinnamon, so I added about 3/4 of a teaspoon to the recipe. It tastes almost spot-on. It baked perfectly in my oven and is so rich and moist... I brought a piece to work with me this morning for breakfast! (Last night, while it was still warm, I served it up with a scoop of coffee flavored ice cream.) Delicious! Delicious! Delicious! I couldn't be more pleased. Thanks for submitting this, Sister!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Carmody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arkansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I think there's a very big palate difference between the states and Israel, for there is not other way to explain why this is rated 5 stars and I thought it was awful. The frosting is gritty and feels artificial, and the cake itself tastes like imitation chocolate cake. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gal Benron

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haifa, Mehoz Hefa, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
SO good! I make this in a 9x13 when I'm not feeding a crowd, I just bake a few minutes longer. Texas Sheet Cake was always my favorite cake growing up, and this recipe makes an even better cake than I remember. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
this was very good. The cake is very light, not an overpowering chocolate, so even with the fudge icing it is not too much chocolate. You do have to watch the icing though, I agree with an earlier reviewer who mentioned removing from heat when it is smooth and not quite boiling. If you let it boil the texture becomes grainy. I added the pecans on top of the warm icing so I could leave half of the cake without nuts for those who prefer it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This cake is great. It's not super deep-dark chocolate in flavor, so if thats what you're looking for, this isn't the recipe for you. This is very moist, and almost creamy tasting. I halved it and used an 8x8x2 pan (baked for 25 minutes) and it came out perfect. I didn't have any issues with the icing, as other reviewers had, and I followed the recipe instructions to put the icing on while the cake is still really warm.This is actually better the next day (I think it gets even moister from sitting overnight with the frosting on top).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLALAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2001
tested this with my coworkers at the police dept and it was devoured. All the comments were good, will definately make this again..... Dawn from Galesburg, Il
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States