Texas Sheet Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Photo by Valerie's Kitchen
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2007
Wow, this was good. I used a pan slightly larger than 13 x 9 and it worked well. One comment on the icing. I had to add quite a bit more milk for the right consistency. I put in the 6 Tbsp. and then ended up pouring more in from the container. I would guess it was at least another 6 Tbsp. I recommend just adding the milk in, stirring, until you get a nice spreadable consistency. I left the pecans out until after I spread the icing over the cake. Then just sprinkled pecans over half so my son who doesn't like nuts could enjoy it that way. LOVED IT!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful
Photo by Debbie Mowatt
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
I loved this recipe! It was exactly the one I was searching for. A friend from a former job always made it and I never got the recipe from her. She did not want to give it out. So, I found this one and it sounded similar - all I had to go on was Texas Sheet Cake with coffee in the recipe. I loved it! It was a tad time consuming to make but worth it! Will make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Mowatt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA
Living In: Poolesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2006
This was a fabulous cake that I took to a 4th of July bbq. It was incredibly simple. Very moist and rich without being sickly sweet. Two ladies stopped me at the door and asked me to bring 2 cakes next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie Balaun

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Aurora, Colorado, USA
Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2006
Awesome and easy! Great for a pitch-in. Feeds lots of people and even better with vanilla bean ice cream :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2006
My Aunt Tinie, a lifelong Okie, passed away a couple years ago, and no one in the family has been able to give me her chocolate sheet cake recipe (though I DID inherit her sewing machine). I remember well going down to visit her and Uncle Homer... She almost always made a cake like this. I remembered hers having a slight tinge of cinnamon, so I added about 3/4 of a teaspoon to the recipe. It tastes almost spot-on. It baked perfectly in my oven and is so rich and moist... I brought a piece to work with me this morning for breakfast! (Last night, while it was still warm, I served it up with a scoop of coffee flavored ice cream.) Delicious! Delicious! Delicious! I couldn't be more pleased. Thanks for submitting this, Sister!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michael Carmody

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arkansas City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
this was very good. The cake is very light, not an overpowering chocolate, so even with the fudge icing it is not too much chocolate. You do have to watch the icing though, I agree with an earlier reviewer who mentioned removing from heat when it is smooth and not quite boiling. If you let it boil the texture becomes grainy. I added the pecans on top of the warm icing so I could leave half of the cake without nuts for those who prefer it that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2004
This is absolutely the best chocolate cake ever! I had so many compliments and requests for the recipe when I served it. Very moist, rich and slighty addicting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
What a wonderfuklly easy and delcious cake! I's just like my Grandma's who just passed away this summer...I have searched her books and files from top to bottom for her version but to no avail! Thanks for bringing some great memories back to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2004
This cake was so delicious and moist! Made my day. Thanks Sister Paula! You're an angel!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2004
This was my first time making a Texas sheet cake. I used a jelly roll pan and it baked up beautifully. I followed the direction about putting the frosting on while the cake was still warm- and it ran everywhere- the countertop, the floor.... next time I will wait until I can spread it on, when the cake is cooler. But the taste was fabulous! Thanks for posting this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States