Texas Sheet Cake VI Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
I like this but it's not like the one I had when I went to Texas. Soooo it get's a 4. It's good but didn't knock it out of the ball park... Thanks for sharing your receipe....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Wonderful! The only thing I was nervous about was, I had a 12x17 pan. It worked fine. My girlfriend had always talked about making a Texas Sheet Cake. I looked up the recipe. She asked me if I wanted her's, I declined the offer and made this recipe, instead. Wow. That's the only word that comes to mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Forbes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2008
My cake turn out very good and moist. This is one of the best cakes I've made and my kids loved it. If your cake don't turn out moist you didn't follow the directions. Keeper in my box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ladyshay

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2008
This cake is great. It's not super deep-dark chocolate in flavor, so if thats what you're looking for, this isn't the recipe for you. This is very moist, and almost creamy tasting. I halved it and used an 8x8x2 pan (baked for 25 minutes) and it came out perfect. I didn't have any issues with the icing, as other reviewers had, and I followed the recipe instructions to put the icing on while the cake is still really warm.This is actually better the next day (I think it gets even moister from sitting overnight with the frosting on top).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLALAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2007
I think there's a very big palate difference between the states and Israel, for there is not other way to explain why this is rated 5 stars and I thought it was awful. The frosting is gritty and feels artificial, and the cake itself tastes like imitation chocolate cake. Will not make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gal Benron

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Haifa, Mehoz Hefa, Israel

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Delish. Very moist with just a hint of coffee flavor. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
This is the same recipe I've used for years, except I use buttermilk in place of the milk and a pinch of salt in the frosting. They help to cut the sweetness a bit. I also add 1 tsp of cinnamon along with the dry ingredients for the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
SO good! I make this in a 9x13 when I'm not feeding a crowd, I just bake a few minutes longer. Texas Sheet Cake was always my favorite cake growing up, and this recipe makes an even better cake than I remember. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2007
The coffee makes all the difference. Don't skimp on the coffee flavor. This is the best version of this recipe. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whatz4dinner

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Champaign, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
Very good....want it to taste authentic??? Add a tsp of cinnamon to the cake batter...and pan toast the pecans before adding them. Delicioso!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Spring, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States