Texas Sheet Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
This cake is delicious and simple to make! Two tips:#1: Have your frosting ingredients set out and ready to go. After stirring in the powdered sugar, DO work quickly to spread it on the cake. It does become like fudge consistency as it cools. #2 If you have not checked to see how level your oven is, you may want to do that before you start. An unlevel surface does show alot on a sheet cake. Wonderful recipe!! You won't be disappointed!! Thanks!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
249 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2008
I thought this was a 5 star finished product, but it takes way longer than 10 min. prep time, melting the butter/cocoa to a boil takes at least that. Make this your first step, so it can be cooling while you deal with the dry ingredients, etc. Rather than struggling to blend eggs and sour cream into a lot of dry stuff, whisk them together separately, and add gradually while running the mixer on Stir for very short periods of time, then add the lukewarm cocoa mix (too hot and you might curdle the batter). Finish by hand. All told, it took 30 to 40 min. to get it in the oven, which is really where the ease begins. It cooks quickly and you don't have to stay up all night waiting for it to cool so you can ice it. Take the time to scale it if your pan is bigger, it is tricky to do the math but it will make a difference, you won't end up with a big flat chocolate cracker. The pan size in the text is 10X15 but the pan size in the header is different; use the 10X15 size. Multiply pan dimensions to give you sq. in. (150 for this recipe; my pan was 192). Divide your pan area by 150, and multiply the result by 35 servings. This tells you what number to plug into the servings box; hit scale and it will automatically do the conversion for you. Odd stuff like 2 1/2 eggs can be rounded to 3 without catastrophe (I did it). Or just go buy a new 10X15 pan.:)PS-sift the sugar for the icing after measuring and before mixing, for no white lumps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
242 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2004
An easy recipe for a good, basic sheet cake. Use a 9x11 pan or double the recipe because 10x13 made for a very thin cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
119 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
I just got done eating ANOTHER bite of this cake. Unfortunately, I have been doing that all day long!!! I made it for company last night and I am being tempted with what is left of this large delicious cake! This was the first time making this cake...I was pleasantly surprised. If you like chocolate, I don't see how you wouldn't like this cake. It is moist and rich, but not too rich where you say you can't eat it(obviously I am not having that problem). I made it in a 10x15 pan, that I thought was only good for making my cookies. I used Baker's Joy cooking spray to grease my pan(very easy). This is a thinner cake, but I liked it the way it was. You have a better icing to cake ratio this way :) I suggest starting the icing approx. 10 minutes prior to the cake coming out of the oven. That way the cake is done right when you are done with the icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
78 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2004
Yeeeeeeehaaaaaaaaaaaa! My native Texan hubby as well as the rest of our family LOVE this cake! We baked this in a 9 x 13 metal pan for 22 minutes - perfection! This was super easy to make. Make sure that you prepare the icing when you are able to put on the cake while it is still warm, preferably right out of the oven. The icing gets stiff fast so the warm cake helps it spread. My family also loves to pair this up with vanilla ice cream. Being from San Antonio where pecan trees are in the back yard, we only make this with pecans, not walnuts. If you are one to worry about calories and fat content this recipe isn't for you, enjoy! ;-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kingsport, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
excellent! just perfect. i did not make this in a jelly roll pan. i made it like a normal cake in a long rectangular cake pan. if your reading this review, there is no need to search for another texas sheet cake recipe. make this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by foodaholic
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
a little slice of heaven! super easy for a whole lotta folks! it never fails that folks call this brownies. it's that rich in a way but much more decadent and frankly, I can eat more of this than brownies any day of the week! **Make this a day ahead - lets the icing set up and just is overall much better. (not that day one is shabby mind you)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodaholic

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mcrae, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2004
I made this in a 9 X 13 pan and it came out great. Very moist. Make the icing after the cake is baked or it will get crusty. Next time I'm adding more nuts to the icing. Some thought this tasted like a brownie. Mmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2005
I loved that I had all the ingredients on hand, no rushing to the shops for an obscure ingredient. It did take longer than the 20 mins. to cook - more like 35 for my oven. I made this for a dinner appointment, it was great, but as it took longer to cook we were late! When they saw the cake, all was forgiven, thanks Carolyn. Please note - the mixture is supposed to be thin, don't be alarmed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2006
I made this for my daughter's preschool valentine lunch. It was soooo delicious; the teachers and kids loved it. I especially loved the icing; it is incredibly fudgy and yummy. I left out the walnuts but am sure they would be great. Definitely need to spread the icing on right out of the oven while the cake's still hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States