Texas Sheet Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I haven't eaten this yet but this was waaaaay more time consuming than it listed. Maybe it's because I didn't have the jelly roll pan and the cake took a little longer in a 9x13 pan, but trying to time everything perfectly was a little difficult. The prep time was SO much longer than 10 minutes. I am hoping the taste makes up for the long prep...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefdish

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Awesome! I used coffee instead of water for the cake mix and used a 9x13 inch pan. It took 30 minutes to fully bake in my oven. Also, I used pecans instead of walnuts but either would be good. In my opinion, the nuts are a must. My husband loved it! Thanks for a winning recipe! Saved to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beech Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Very good. Definitely make the icing after the cake is baked and cool cause it hardens quick! After a few days when the icing is pretty stiff on the cake, don't worry! If you toss a piece in the microeave for about 5-10 seconds it melts it and it seeps into the cake and makes it even MORE awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Heaven in a cake pan!!!!!! I love this recipe...must control my urges to bake this one to often...can be quite addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss v

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Has been a standby in our house and it serves a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This cake is unreal, SO good! It's moist and chocolatey, just what I wanted. I don't have anything super helpful to add. I do think it's a good idea to have all of the ingredients for both the cake and the frosting set out because once you get started it goes fairly quickly. Pour the hot frosting on the hot cake as soon as it comes out of the oven - it sets up pretty quickly. Most of all, enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
My mother used to make something very similar to this- I have to say, though- this recipe is better than my mothers!! I made this for a coworkers birthday and it was a big hit. I was in a rush the night before, slapped the icing on and immediately put the lid on the cake pan- the end result was a very rich, very moist cake with icing and a lava-like something or other in between- DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OGRELETMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Perfect! An optional choice and for variation is to add a bit of cinnamon and brewed coffee in place of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This is my favorite sheet cake recipe. You can change it... To make a white sheet cake: delete the cocoa and add 1 tsp almond extract to the cake and 1/2 to 1 tsp almond extract to the frosting. To make a peanut butter sheet cake: add 2/3 c. peanut butter to the cake batter (cook with the butter) and 2/3 c. creamy peanut butter to the frosting. You can reduce the amount of powdered sugar. Today I made the peanut butter sheet cake and only used 2.5 cups of powdered sugar instead of 4.5 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
So yummy and easy to make. I love this recipe because I don't need to purchase special ingredients that I'll only use once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 395) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States