Texas Sheet Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
The cake felt like something was missing for some reason (but I don't know what) but the icing was fantastic, and tasted just like hot chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
Made this again as the finish to a BBQ dinner. I cut back the sugar in the cake to 1 and a half cups and in the icing to 3. No noticeable difference in taste - just a little easier on the teeth and waistline. Success and coliments all around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2012
This was okay. I have had Texas sheet cake at various picnics, this wasn't exactly it. Edit: This was better the second time around. I think cutting the recipe to make a smaller cake is a BAD idea. The second time I made the sheet cake exactly and it is very, very good! It was gone in two days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
Delicious. I used pecans, about 2 cups, in the frosting. Would be good to use nuts in the cake too. I also used King arthur baking chocolate (about 6 squares each) both in the batter and in the frosting in addition to the cocoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Yep! This one's a winner...exactly what I was looking for, not a cake not a brownie! Followed the recipe as written...made the frosting about 10 minutes before the cake was done and it was perfect timing. I thought the frosting was just as heavenly as the cake. We refer to this as picnic cake...hmmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2012
One of my all time favorites!! Can't go wrong with this cake!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis Berggren Nelson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Love this cake and frosting. Very easy to make and always a crowd pleaser. I usually make two cakes with my 2 - 1/4 sheet pans. That way I can throw one in the freezer. The 1/4 sheet size is plenty unless you're feeding a crowd! I thaw the cake and just pour the hot frosting on it and it's just as good as freshly made!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
The frosting didnt set up as well as I would have hoped, I added extra powdered sugar and cocoa powder because I was worried it was too runny and it still was soupy. Put in the fridge for a bit after putting the icing on to help with that, was good but really sweet w/all the powdered sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
Oh my gosh!!! I'm supposed to take this to a dinner tonight and I couldn't resist sampling. Super super delicious. Very moist, not heavy like brownies, just the right sweetness. The frosting is terrific. But definitely have your frosting ingredients ready to go when the cake gets done. It sets up fast! Used toasted, chopped almonds sprinkled on top of the icing layer. Will make again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheresaL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
Awesome cake! This recipe makes a large rectangle cake, big enough to serve a large crowd. It was also big on flavour. Super moist and light at the same time. I did ice this cake with a ganache frosting because I made it for a birthday party. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Streetsville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 402) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States