Texas Sheet Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
This cake & frosting combination was delicious and disappeared at my church's Lenten soup supper last night. But, everyone agreed it was the frosting that made the cake. I think the butter/chocolate/water mixture was hotter than specified (what does cool a little bit mean anyway), but using a very slow pour, from about 8 inches above the flour/sugar/egg mixture, the result was fine. Will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2013
Follow the recipe, and not the reviews! I made this in a smaller pan after reading reviews and it cooked up over the rim. The idea, as I recall from eating my Texas grandmother's some 40 years ago, it that there should be room in the pan to pour the frosting on, when the cake is still warm and the frosting will kind of melt over the cake in an even layer. The sides contain the frosting. Also, someone said the cake did not taste chocolately enough. I think it is supposed to be a mild chocolate cake enhanced with an intense frosting. I would not skip the nuts, unless you are allergic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2013
Eating this cake right now! I've been making sheet cake for a lot of years, and this is the third recipe I have tried. They were all good. The thing I like the most is that sheet cake is so easy and can't really be messed up. They always turn out good. And, they are always so moist! Plus, it uses ingredients that I usually always have in the kitchen! I wouldn't say this was the best sheet cake recipe, but it is definitely worth the effort! To the one who said the cake is too thin when using a baking sheet: That's why it is called a "sheet" cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This recipe was very easy to make, but it was saccharine sweet. Much too sweet for my tastes. If you've ever said a dessert wasn't "sweet enough," this is the recipe for you. On a technical note, you may wish to use the Wilton bake-even strips on the side of the sheet pan. Since you're pouring icing over a hot cake, if you have a large dome in the middle, some will get less frosting than others.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
This is, hands down, the best chocolate cake I've ever eaten! The decadent chocolate frosting is to die for. It reminds me of hot fudge sauce. I wouldn't change a thing about this recipe! Thank you for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bella

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Delicious chocolate cake. Will definitely make this one again. I did not have the correct size pan, so I just used a regular 9 x 13 cake pan and baked for about 22-24 minutes. Turned out awesome and is an easy crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sandy, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
You can't go wrong with a basic chocolate cake. Not quite as good as 20-minute chocolate cake, but definitely satisfies a raging sweet tooth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CN29URSERY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
This cake is awesome. I used a 9 X 13 pan and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I adore this recipe and go back to it time and time again. Halving this made 15 small cupcakes. This cake is better the next day. Used strong brewed coffee instead of the water. Yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
I hate chocolate cake, but I liked this. The people I made it for (the ones who actually like chocolate cake) loved it. By request, I used Caramel Frosting IV from this site instead of the suggested frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 402) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States