Texas Sheet Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
We love this recipe! I had to modify for altitude and it works beautifully! I reduced the baking soda to only 1/4 of the recommended amount and added 2 TBSP flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I was very pleased! Best cake i've ever made from scratch. I used less sugar (1 2/3 c) in the cake, and used about 1/2 c whole wheat pastry flour to make it a little healthier. The frosting was excellent! It really makes the cake, which was super moist. I would agree the cake could have more chocolate flavor, but I still really liked it as is. I used a 9 x 13 pan to transport it easier and it worked just fine. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Excellent cake. The frosting sets up quick so make sure your cake is done and warm or soon to come out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I made this for my sweetie's birthday and brought it into the office today for him to share. EVERYONE raved about it. I added a tiny bit of cinnamon, but that was my only deviation from the recipe. It's dense and moist and full of flavor. It was my first cake from scratch and it couldn't have been easier, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MayberryGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I liked the cake but the pan size is off a little. I measured and used my Wilton 10.25 x 15.25" pan. It came up over the top of the pan which is fine, but the frosting is put on a warm cake so there is no place for it to go but drip down the sides. I will use a slightly larger sheet cake pan next time. Also, I didn't add all the confectioner sugar to the frosting. I probably used about 3 cups and it was then spreading consistency so I didn't want to add more and make it too stiff. It spread easily and tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
This cake is exceptional; and I am a picky baker. It was fairly simple to make, the texture is superb and the frosting was so good, I was eating it with a spoon. I made it in an 9x11 and it worked out well. My search for a good Texas Sheet Cake is over. Thank you for a recipe worth the time and the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This was my first time making a Texas sheet cake. It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This is my go-to recipe for this cake with the following adjustments (and I should add that it is completely fine as it is). A BIG modification that I highly recommend is adding cinnamon to the dry ingredients-- a full 2-3 tablespoons. It makes the chocolate taste even better- you won't taste the cinnamon at all. I had another recipe that I've made with cinnamon- I preferred the taste, but this cake has a much better texture. This texture with the richer flavor is amazing. As for making it, and a few people mentioned the prep time is off, I melt/boil the butter/cocoa, etc FIRST. It saves a few minutes. By the time I mix the dry ingredients and the egg/sour cream (I usually use greek yogurt since we always have it on hand), the cocoa mixture has cooled enough to mix in. I also agree about working FAST on the icing-- and make sure the cake is warm. It creates this mid layer of yummy, melty chocolate goodness! I sprinkle ground pecans, not walnuts, on half for the anti-nut crowd rather than mixing it in with the icing. I find walnuts are too acidic and the pecans taste better with the chocolate. Again, a great base recipe that I modified to give it a warmer, richer flavor. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This is the best Texas Sheet cake I've ever had! I could easily and very happily eat the whole thing myself but my little sister would probably kill me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Gladewater, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This cake was so surprisingly moist! I loved it! I borrowed a pan and it was too big, and I didn't want my cake to turn out like a cracker, so I used my glass, rectangular Pyrex, baking dish instead, so it came out like a cake. It wasn't like a brownie at all. I also had to add 20 minutes more to the cooking time because it was not done after 20 minutes. I do, however, have to side with another reviewer that it needed more chocolate flavor. The next time I will put 1/2 a cup of water and 1/2 a cup of coffee to the cocoa mixture instead of 1 cup of water. I also looked at another reviewer's comment about the frosting being "fudgy" or too thick. I didn't want that, so I used shellann13's Best Chocolate Frosting on this site, which yielded a very creamy, chocolatey frosting. Altogether, simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States