Texas Sheet Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was easy to make and so good! I used a 9X13" pan as I didn't have a clean jelly-roll pan so the cook time took a bit longer. The cake still turned out dense and moist and delicious! I used a different frosting so I can't comment on that, but I will try it the next time I make this cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
I needed to find a dessert to present to 60 people. My husband is doing his first catering & asked me to bake something to help him out. I am an avid baker, but have never baked for that quantity. I did a trial run of this recipe & while the taste is ok, I am hard pressed to call this a "cake". I am now in the process of baking 2 half sheet pans of this for the actual catering. It is listed on the menu as a cake brownie. I will dress it up with a piping of whipped cream, with a slight dusting of cocoa powder & cinnamon. Wish me luck!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
I haven't eaten this yet but this was waaaaay more time consuming than it listed. Maybe it's because I didn't have the jelly roll pan and the cake took a little longer in a 9x13 pan, but trying to time everything perfectly was a little difficult. The prep time was SO much longer than 10 minutes. I am hoping the taste makes up for the long prep...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stefdish

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2011
Awesome! I used coffee instead of water for the cake mix and used a 9x13 inch pan. It took 30 minutes to fully bake in my oven. Also, I used pecans instead of walnuts but either would be good. In my opinion, the nuts are a must. My husband loved it! Thanks for a winning recipe! Saved to my recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beech Island, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
Very good. Definitely make the icing after the cake is baked and cool cause it hardens quick! After a few days when the icing is pretty stiff on the cake, don't worry! If you toss a piece in the microeave for about 5-10 seconds it melts it and it seeps into the cake and makes it even MORE awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2011
Heaven in a cake pan!!!!!! I love this recipe...must control my urges to bake this one to often...can be quite addictive!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miss v

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inglewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Has been a standby in our house and it serves a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This cake is unreal, SO good! It's moist and chocolatey, just what I wanted. I don't have anything super helpful to add. I do think it's a good idea to have all of the ingredients for both the cake and the frosting set out because once you get started it goes fairly quickly. Pour the hot frosting on the hot cake as soon as it comes out of the oven - it sets up pretty quickly. Most of all, enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
My mother used to make something very similar to this- I have to say, though- this recipe is better than my mothers!! I made this for a coworkers birthday and it was a big hit. I was in a rush the night before, slapped the icing on and immediately put the lid on the cake pan- the end result was a very rich, very moist cake with icing and a lava-like something or other in between- DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OGRELETMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Perfect! An optional choice and for variation is to add a bit of cinnamon and brewed coffee in place of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 387) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States