Texas Sheet Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
Has been a standby in our house and it serves a crowd.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This cake is unreal, SO good! It's moist and chocolatey, just what I wanted. I don't have anything super helpful to add. I do think it's a good idea to have all of the ingredients for both the cake and the frosting set out because once you get started it goes fairly quickly. Pour the hot frosting on the hot cake as soon as it comes out of the oven - it sets up pretty quickly. Most of all, enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
My mother used to make something very similar to this- I have to say, though- this recipe is better than my mothers!! I made this for a coworkers birthday and it was a big hit. I was in a rush the night before, slapped the icing on and immediately put the lid on the cake pan- the end result was a very rich, very moist cake with icing and a lava-like something or other in between- DELICIOUS!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OGRELETMAMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Perfect! An optional choice and for variation is to add a bit of cinnamon and brewed coffee in place of the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mama Luvs Papa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
This is my favorite sheet cake recipe. You can change it... To make a white sheet cake: delete the cocoa and add 1 tsp almond extract to the cake and 1/2 to 1 tsp almond extract to the frosting. To make a peanut butter sheet cake: add 2/3 c. peanut butter to the cake batter (cook with the butter) and 2/3 c. creamy peanut butter to the frosting. You can reduce the amount of powdered sugar. Today I made the peanut butter sheet cake and only used 2.5 cups of powdered sugar instead of 4.5 cups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
So yummy and easy to make. I love this recipe because I don't need to purchase special ingredients that I'll only use once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Living In: Yuma, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2011
I had never made Texas sheet cake and was so happy I chose this recipe as my first! It will also be my last! Delicious & moist. Everyone was right, it was even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grove, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
This cake is absolutely fabulous! It is almost brownie like and the frosting is to die for. Super easy to make and is always a hit at gatherings! Thank you Carolyn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2011
Very moist, and quick to pull together. Made for card group.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2011
The cake was good but i used only 2 cups of pwd sugar for the frosting and i still found it toooo sweet. I accidently waited for the cocoa -butter mixture to cool and then added the confectioners pwd sugar and it all clumped in little balls in the oocoa mix , i spread it like that on the cake, so maybe when i bit into a piece i was getting the little clumps of pwd sugar in the icing that made it was too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 381) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States