Texas Sheet Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2013
Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I'm making this "as we speak" for MY birthday and because every single family member asked if this could be my birthday cake. 'Nuff said!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gail Cobile

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spotsylvania, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
I really enjoy this cake. It turns out well and is easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by blackhighheels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
The sheet pan I make this in is very shallow and I usually end up spilling the fudgey topping over the edge. But this time when I made it I poked holes in my cake when it came out of the oven, like a poke cake. The topping is now IN the cake and OMG! I will never make it the "old" way again! Also, on the advice of others, I increased the cocoa in the cake to 6 Tbs. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2013
We love this recipe! I had to modify for altitude and it works beautifully! I reduced the baking soda to only 1/4 of the recommended amount and added 2 TBSP flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2013
I was very pleased! Best cake i've ever made from scratch. I used less sugar (1 2/3 c) in the cake, and used about 1/2 c whole wheat pastry flour to make it a little healthier. The frosting was excellent! It really makes the cake, which was super moist. I would agree the cake could have more chocolate flavor, but I still really liked it as is. I used a 9 x 13 pan to transport it easier and it worked just fine. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
Excellent cake. The frosting sets up quick so make sure your cake is done and warm or soon to come out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I made this for my sweetie's birthday and brought it into the office today for him to share. EVERYONE raved about it. I added a tiny bit of cinnamon, but that was my only deviation from the recipe. It's dense and moist and full of flavor. It was my first cake from scratch and it couldn't have been easier, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MayberryGal

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Queen Creek, Arizona, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
I liked the cake but the pan size is off a little. I measured and used my Wilton 10.25 x 15.25" pan. It came up over the top of the pan which is fine, but the frosting is put on a warm cake so there is no place for it to go but drip down the sides. I will use a slightly larger sheet cake pan next time. Also, I didn't add all the confectioner sugar to the frosting. I probably used about 3 cups and it was then spreading consistency so I didn't want to add more and make it too stiff. It spread easily and tasted good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Jamestown, New York, USA
Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
This cake is exceptional; and I am a picky baker. It was fairly simple to make, the texture is superb and the frosting was so good, I was eating it with a spoon. I made it in an 9x11 and it worked out well. My search for a good Texas Sheet Cake is over. Thank you for a recipe worth the time and the calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 425) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States