Texas Sheet Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2013
This was my first time making a Texas sheet cake. It turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2013
This is my go-to recipe for this cake with the following adjustments (and I should add that it is completely fine as it is). A BIG modification that I highly recommend is adding cinnamon to the dry ingredients-- a full 2-3 tablespoons. It makes the chocolate taste even better- you won't taste the cinnamon at all. I had another recipe that I've made with cinnamon- I preferred the taste, but this cake has a much better texture. This texture with the richer flavor is amazing. As for making it, and a few people mentioned the prep time is off, I melt/boil the butter/cocoa, etc FIRST. It saves a few minutes. By the time I mix the dry ingredients and the egg/sour cream (I usually use greek yogurt since we always have it on hand), the cocoa mixture has cooled enough to mix in. I also agree about working FAST on the icing-- and make sure the cake is warm. It creates this mid layer of yummy, melty chocolate goodness! I sprinkle ground pecans, not walnuts, on half for the anti-nut crowd rather than mixing it in with the icing. I find walnuts are too acidic and the pecans taste better with the chocolate. Again, a great base recipe that I modified to give it a warmer, richer flavor. ENJOY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2013
This is the best Texas Sheet cake I've ever had! I could easily and very happily eat the whole thing myself but my little sister would probably kill me! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
This cake was so surprisingly moist! I loved it! I borrowed a pan and it was too big, and I didn't want my cake to turn out like a cracker, so I used my glass, rectangular Pyrex, baking dish instead, so it came out like a cake. It wasn't like a brownie at all. I also had to add 20 minutes more to the cooking time because it was not done after 20 minutes. I do, however, have to side with another reviewer that it needed more chocolate flavor. The next time I will put 1/2 a cup of water and 1/2 a cup of coffee to the cocoa mixture instead of 1 cup of water. I also looked at another reviewer's comment about the frosting being "fudgy" or too thick. I didn't want that, so I used shellann13's Best Chocolate Frosting on this site, which yielded a very creamy, chocolatey frosting. Altogether, simply delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
The cake itself was a cinch but the frosting, OMG!!! I couldn't figure out what I did wrong. It was WAY too thick. It was one big ball. In fact, I made it twice. The second time was a little better then the first so I followed what a previous reviewer had said and frosted the cake on the oven rack with the warm oven open. It was a little scary, I thought I'd pull the cake apart. But, as it warmed, it ended up spreading nicely. It looks yummy. We'll see what my party has to say tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by maragos3

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This is very similar to a recipe I've used for years. Mine uses buttermilk instead of sour cream, and slightly less cocoa. It's a hit everywhere I take it. Feeds a crowd. I prefer to bake it a jellyroll pan rather than regular cake pan. Seems to make a moister cake with just the right cake to frosting combo. A good Southern staple cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KKCOBB

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I'm a New Yorker and this cake is awesome. It was quick,moist and simply delicious, I've made twice once fowl owed the recipe as written but the second thine I took the advise from other reviews and sub good coffee I place of the water and because I was all out of coco powder I made a Carmel frosting from this sites and let me tell u it's was Devine either way u decide to make this cake it delicious .....:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
I got blue ribbon at our county fair several years ago. I have had more people ask for the recipe and my family loves it. I even have my pastor's wife begging me to make it for them, it's THAT good! NOT a good diet cake, but who cares! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2013
My family has made this cake forever, only ours has buttermilk instead of sour cream and cinnamon, to give it some Texas sass! Its a sure fire winner wherever you take it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Turned out wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 385) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States