Texas Sheet Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2014
This was one of the blandest, most flavorless chocolate cakes I have ever tasted. Luckily I sampled. the batter and could tell that it needed much more cocoa. I ended up doubling the cocoa in both the cake and frosting, and it still only had a mild hint of chocolate flavor. I should note that I used quality cocoa, so it wasn't due to poor quality ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I make this in a 9x13 pan and bake for 26 minutes or so. Super delicious and very moist cake. I only use 3 cups of sugar in the frosting to cut the sweetness a bit. This is a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HUSHPUPPY

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
I made this in a shallow 9x13, and I needed a deeper pan. I think it would be fine in a regular 9x13. My jelly roll pan was too big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joel & Lauren

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ceewhycee
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2014
I didn't change a thing and this is SOOOOOO good and easy to make! I made this to take to work and everyone said it was really good. I may never use another chocolate cake recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hinesville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
Favorite chocolate cake recipe ever!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
I did not read what to do with the cup of water. I made the cake before watching the video that explains to add the water to the butter and cocoa mixture. The cake still turned out fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
This was a huge hit at a family party. Made it exactly as described except with no nuts. This is definitely on my "go-to" list of favorite recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
I make this delicious cake many many times! For birthdays, church socials, game nights and everybody raves about it! Have been asked several times for the recipe and I gladly give it! I use all the same ingredients except that I use coffee in place of the water and I make it in a 9x13 inch pan! Superb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sweeny, Texas, USA
Living In: La Marque, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2014
The cake turned out good, maybe too sweet for me to make it again. I only used 1 + 1/2 cups sugar but it's still too sweet. My kids loved it!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Valencia, Communidad Valenciana, Spain

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
Delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 398) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States