Texas Sheet Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Perfect Texas sheet cake with one exception. I added a teaspoon of vanilla to the cake. I think it really made a difference. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Yesterday was my husband's birthday and I hadn't been able to prepare in advance for anything because I'd been sick. I wanted to bake him a cake that would be special. Decided to try this recipe and boy was it a hit! This will definitely be on our favorites list from now on! Like other reviewers have said, I used a 9X13 pan because that was all I had. It took a little more than 20 minutes to bake because it was deeper. Also, I wish the recipe said to melt the butter for the icing before you put in the milk and cocoa. I'm not a great cook and didn't think to do that. I just put it all in the saucepan at once and cooked it and the icing curdled a little and separated. But once I put the confectioners sugar in, it all blended ok. I was glad other reviewers had said to spread the icing on the cake quickly as soon as it came out of the oven. My thought was to let the cake cool first. It pays to read the instructions! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara Dailey
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Oh my this is awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Dailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Followed it to a "T". Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBHOLT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
unbelievably good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Simply fantastic. Easy and perfect. I did use canned frosting (gasp!) on the very warm cake for times sake. I thought the canned frosting would ruin the cake (it was for a large group of young adults) but it was very good. This is a cake I will use for the future- for a sheet cake I can't imagine there is a better recipe to be found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Very easy and yummy. I split the butter with shortening in both the cake and the icing and it was very good. I wasnt paying attention and I added the butter/shortening and eggs to the flour mixture...oops...so I heated only the cocoa with the water but added about 3 tablespoons shortening to the heated mixture so it would be similar to the recipe. So I goofed up but it still came out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2014
I made this recipe exactly as directed and everyone loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2014
Made this for a family cook out, they came out great :) everybody loved them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This is the easiest, most delicious chocolate cake recipe ever. I love that you could even make this with just a hand whisk, if that's all you've got. I made it in 2 8x8 pans, which made it the thickness of a regular sheet cake (Texas sheet cake is supposed to be a lot shorter) and baked it a little longer. I also toasted some chopped pecans and sprinkled them densely over the frosting I'd just poured on top, and pressed them in a bit so they stuck. I am horrified to admit that over a few days, I ate the entire cake by myself. It was THAT good. Will definitely be making this again very soon, and will insist that my husband help me finish it this time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 408) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States