Texas Sheet Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
My family loves this more than any other dessert. 3 days later is the best time to eat it. Its pure goo by then and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Absolutely delish!!! However, used 9x13 metal pan, so cake AND frosting were thick and rich. Very nice dense cake with lots of chocolate flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I was worried about having to adjust the ingredients to fit my pan (16x11.5) coupled with the fact I've never made a sheet cake before ... but it worked wonderfully. I used an adjusted serving size of 40, keeping my 1/2 cups loose...also used half coffee/half water mixture instead of plain water. I thought I was prepared for the frosting having read it set up quickly, but man, I didn't realize just how quickly it set up and ended up with lumps of powdered sugar. Will make sure to sift as others suggested next time. Cake itself was perfect with 6T of cocoa powder ... moist and yet not too dense (I was worried about it being *too* brownie like). In short, absolutely delicious and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Perfect Texas sheet cake with one exception. I added a teaspoon of vanilla to the cake. I think it really made a difference. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Yesterday was my husband's birthday and I hadn't been able to prepare in advance for anything because I'd been sick. I wanted to bake him a cake that would be special. Decided to try this recipe and boy was it a hit! This will definitely be on our favorites list from now on! Like other reviewers have said, I used a 9X13 pan because that was all I had. It took a little more than 20 minutes to bake because it was deeper. Also, I wish the recipe said to melt the butter for the icing before you put in the milk and cocoa. I'm not a great cook and didn't think to do that. I just put it all in the saucepan at once and cooked it and the icing curdled a little and separated. But once I put the confectioners sugar in, it all blended ok. I was glad other reviewers had said to spread the icing on the cake quickly as soon as it came out of the oven. My thought was to let the cake cool first. It pays to read the instructions! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara Dailey
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Oh my this is awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Dailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Followed it to a "T". Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBHOLT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
unbelievably good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Simply fantastic. Easy and perfect. I did use canned frosting (gasp!) on the very warm cake for times sake. I thought the canned frosting would ruin the cake (it was for a large group of young adults) but it was very good. This is a cake I will use for the future- for a sheet cake I can't imagine there is a better recipe to be found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2014
Very easy and yummy. I split the butter with shortening in both the cake and the icing and it was very good. I wasnt paying attention and I added the butter/shortening and eggs to the flour mixture...oops...so I heated only the cocoa with the water but added about 3 tablespoons shortening to the heated mixture so it would be similar to the recipe. So I goofed up but it still came out excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 411) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Lemon Cake

This moist, delicious lemon sheet cake is so quick and easy to make!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States