Texas Sheet Cake V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
I have made this cake many times over the years for various occasions, but lately I have been asked to bring it for bereavement dinners as everyone loves this cake and it goes a long way. The last time I made it, I did not have any milk, so I used sour cream in the frosting as well as the cake. It is delicious and I think that is the way I will make it from now on. I also used a 9 X 13 pan instead of a sheet pan, and iced while hot. Not that it was bad the first day, but I thought it was better the second day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Bloomington, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2015
My family loves this more than any other dessert. 3 days later is the best time to eat it. Its pure goo by then and so delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2015
Absolutely delish!!! However, used 9x13 metal pan, so cake AND frosting were thick and rich. Very nice dense cake with lots of chocolate flavor!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
I was worried about having to adjust the ingredients to fit my pan (16x11.5) coupled with the fact I've never made a sheet cake before ... but it worked wonderfully. I used an adjusted serving size of 40, keeping my 1/2 cups loose...also used half coffee/half water mixture instead of plain water. I thought I was prepared for the frosting having read it set up quickly, but man, I didn't realize just how quickly it set up and ended up with lumps of powdered sugar. Will make sure to sift as others suggested next time. Cake itself was perfect with 6T of cocoa powder ... moist and yet not too dense (I was worried about it being *too* brownie like). In short, absolutely delicious and will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Perfect Texas sheet cake with one exception. I added a teaspoon of vanilla to the cake. I think it really made a difference. Wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Yesterday was my husband's birthday and I hadn't been able to prepare in advance for anything because I'd been sick. I wanted to bake him a cake that would be special. Decided to try this recipe and boy was it a hit! This will definitely be on our favorites list from now on! Like other reviewers have said, I used a 9X13 pan because that was all I had. It took a little more than 20 minutes to bake because it was deeper. Also, I wish the recipe said to melt the butter for the icing before you put in the milk and cocoa. I'm not a great cook and didn't think to do that. I just put it all in the saucepan at once and cooked it and the icing curdled a little and separated. But once I put the confectioners sugar in, it all blended ok. I was glad other reviewers had said to spread the icing on the cake quickly as soon as it came out of the oven. My thought was to let the cake cool first. It pays to read the instructions! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Barbara Dailey
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2015
Oh my this is awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barbara Dailey

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2015
Followed it to a "T". Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BBHOLT

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2014
unbelievably good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2014
Simply fantastic. Easy and perfect. I did use canned frosting (gasp!) on the very warm cake for times sake. I thought the canned frosting would ruin the cake (it was for a large group of young adults) but it was very good. This is a cake I will use for the future- for a sheet cake I can't imagine there is a better recipe to be found.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 412) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States