Texas Sheet Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I made this cake last month for a potluck we had at our church to honor our pastor. I never made Texas Sheet Cake before and our pastor loves coffee and chocolate so I thought this would be a good thing to take. When it was time to clean up I happened to see one lady putting four pieces on a plate to take home. Everyone loved it and said I could bring it again. Tomorrow I am making it again for my son's birthday party. What a great tasting cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This was fantastic!!! I tasted it when it was still very warm and I thought it was a little bland, but after it cooled, I LOVED it! My whole family LOVED it! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I made this today to go along with my Mother's Day meal. The cake was wonderfully moist and full of flavor. I lightly sprinkled powdered sugar on top of icing. Oh..I didn't have any coffee made, so I substituted 1 cup strong instant coffee. Definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is an old favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Yummy; Will fix again and I like it that it is quick and easy. Hubby would not stay out of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green River, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Absolutly perfect sheet cake. I made this for a family party and another person also made a sheet cake, this one was gone and there was more than half of the other left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alden, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Very good. Just like I remebered it from a co-worker who got me hooked with hers but would never give me the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Mowatt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA
Living In: Poolesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Just wonderful! In my opinion, it just isn't authentic Texas sheet cake without the addition of coffee. My husband loves chocolate cake and had never had this before. He said it was the best cake he'd ever had and now has a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This was a wonderful recipe. I have made this before but never did use coffee. It was delicious. In response to a previous reader that said the icing hardened before the cake could be spread...when my cake is done I pull out the rack and leave it right on the rack (with the oven still on) in front of the open hot oven and spread on the frosting at once. Someone had suggested this to me and I've never had a problem with spreading the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATWEIGAND
Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I made this recipe tonight to have for Sunday dinner. We are having a baby dedication at church for my granddaugher. It is a great recipe. I sifted all the dry ingredients together prior to starting any of the steps. There were no lumps. I also used buttermilk instead of regular milk in the batter and icing. It is scrumptuous! We had to 'taste' a piece before tomorrow. LOVE it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irondale, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States