Texas Sheet Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2001
this recepie didn't work well for us because we made three sheet cakes at one time and weren't able to get the frosting on before it started to get hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2004
I have made it several times and it quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland Heights, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Johnson City, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2006
Very good. Just like I remebered it from a co-worker who got me hooked with hers but would never give me the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Mowatt

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Mount Airy, Maryland, USA
Living In: Poolesville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2007
This was good! I would probably add cinnamon next time. I used a Hylander Grog flavored coffee and it added a rich butterum flavor to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
Just wonderful! In my opinion, it just isn't authentic Texas sheet cake without the addition of coffee. My husband loves chocolate cake and had never had this before. He said it was the best cake he'd ever had and now has a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2007
It was good, although I've had better Texas sheet cakes. I didnt notice the coffee taste, so I'll omit it next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Blue Ridge, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This was a wonderful recipe. I have made this before but never did use coffee. It was delicious. In response to a previous reader that said the icing hardened before the cake could be spread...when my cake is done I pull out the rack and leave it right on the rack (with the oven still on) in front of the open hot oven and spread on the frosting at once. Someone had suggested this to me and I've never had a problem with spreading the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PATWEIGAND
Home Town: Evansville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2008
This cake was very easy and just delicious. It is very VERY sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2008
I made this today to go along with my Mother's Day meal. The cake was wonderfully moist and full of flavor. I lightly sprinkled powdered sugar on top of icing. Oh..I didn't have any coffee made, so I substituted 1 cup strong instant coffee. Definitely a keeper! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Neosho, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
I made this recipe tonight to have for Sunday dinner. We are having a baby dedication at church for my granddaugher. It is a great recipe. I sifted all the dry ingredients together prior to starting any of the steps. There were no lumps. I also used buttermilk instead of regular milk in the batter and icing. It is scrumptuous! We had to 'taste' a piece before tomorrow. LOVE it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Irondale, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States