Texas Sheet Cake IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
The best of the texas sheet cakes so far. Good cake, but the frosting is still a tad too sweet and lays too thin over the cake. But so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2012
A very moist cake that went together quickly. The secret is to frost immediately as it comes from the oven. I have a family of chocoholics, so I doubled the dark cocoa powder in both cake and frosting and cut the sugar in both by 1/2 cup. Delicious! Couldn't keep my hubby out of it. Oh yeah, make sure your jellyroll pan is 13X18.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This is a very old recipe of mine....A true crowd pleaser with on-hand ingredients, quickly throws together and not much effort. You will always get requests for more with this one! The only change I make is I use all butter in the batter rather than the shortening (don't like to use shortening at all). You won't be sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
Absolutly perfect sheet cake. I made this for a family party and another person also made a sheet cake, this one was gone and there was more than half of the other left over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alden, New York, USA
Living In: Williamsville, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
This is an old favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Yummy; Will fix again and I like it that it is quick and easy. Hubby would not stay out of the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Green River, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
These were easy and good. I would probably add a little more chocolate in batter, maybe chocolate syrup, to make more chocolate flavorful. Otherwise, they are good, not too sweet. I used tip, about putting frosting on while just out of oven, pulling the rack out a little bit, and it worked perfectly. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2009
This was fantastic!!! I tasted it when it was still very warm and I thought it was a little bland, but after it cooled, I LOVED it! My whole family LOVED it! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I made this cake last month for a potluck we had at our church to honor our pastor. I never made Texas Sheet Cake before and our pastor loves coffee and chocolate so I thought this would be a good thing to take. When it was time to clean up I happened to see one lady putting four pieces on a plate to take home. Everyone loved it and said I could bring it again. Tomorrow I am making it again for my son's birthday party. What a great tasting cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
I made this cake for my husband's birthday. I must say, I was a little disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly as stated. The cocoa powder may have been too old. My husband loves chocolate, and it just did not have a rich chocolate taste. I most likely will not try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wilson, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States