Texas Sheet Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
I am a native Texan and can tell you that this is the real McCoy using real chocolate, buttermilk and ground cinnamon! It is excellent with or without vanilla ice cream. I've eaten it with pecans instead in of walnuts. Either is good. Thanks for the recipe Bron!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dinner Date

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Delicious! This was my first from scratch cake ever. I followed suggestions to add 1more ounce of chocolate and reduce cinnamon to 1/4 tsp. wonderful flavor! The cinnamon is not recognizable, you isn't get that " what is that great taste" affect. Will make again! Oh, only made the cake not the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2012
Good and simple cake, but not great. Might make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Very Good! I used 1 cup coffee and think that next time I would only use a rounded tsp. of espresso powder instead. It had a bit too much coffee flavor (almost a mocha taste). Loved the cinnamon and will keep that in. Good for a family dessert, picnic or casual party
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hobbycook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Tarpon Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2011
My mother always made this exact cake when we were kids and now my kids love it. I added the 1/2c flour like many people have suggested but I have to say I won't do that again - it made mine almost a little dry. This recipe is a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2011
I recently made this for 200 without ever trying the recipe before being put on the spot. It filled 4 full sheet pans. Every piece was perfect. What a wonderful recipe! Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Following the recommendations of previous reviewers of this recipe, I added 1/2 cup flour and reduced the cinnamon to 1/2 teaspoon. I also baked it in a jelly roll pan (Pampered C. bar pan) and used buttermilk in the frosting recipe and elimintated the pecans. It really turned out great. Possibly could use more chocolate flavor. I might try adding an additional ounce of chocolate to the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
The main reason I chose this cake over the other Texas cakes on this site is because this is the only one that uses unsweetened chocolate instead of cocoa powder. I was hoping for a more intense chocolate cake that way. But as a serious chocoholic, this still wasn't enough chocolate for me. Plenty sweet though. The cake is nice and moist. I did increase the chocolate to 2 1/2 squares and the flour by another 1/2 cup. Very glad I reduced to the cinnamon to 1/4 teaspoon. Mine took about 35 minutes to cook. I don't recommend starting the frosting until the cake is just out of the oven. I started mine at 25 minutes after the cake started cooking and then the cake took another ten minutes to cook. I was in a total panic that the frosting would firm up on me while waiting for the cake to finish. It was a little firm to work with and not the best looking but I have eaten Texas sheet cake before and know it is the frosting that makes the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRAZY4SUSHI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2009
I had never heard of Texas sheet cake until I tried this recipe. It's great! I made it exactly as given and like it so much this way, I wouldn't take a chance on trying some of the changes other reviewers have suggested. It is "demanded" for all of our church pot lucks!.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chevy Chase, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This recipe will make a good cake. Some adjustments are needed. If made in a jelly roll pan, I would double the frosting recipe. Ii sets up quickly, and it will not spread easily. Also there is just not enough! The texture of the cake is soft like a layer cake. I added extra cocoa powder (1 Tablespoon to the batter and the frosting unless your are doubling the icing). This is good, but there are better ones. I would make this again, if I could not find one of those that I know exist!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Amazing Pecan Coffee Cake

A moist, tender coffee cake with a sweet, crunchy pecan topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States