Texas Sheet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This is a good recipe the only thing I do different is when it calls for water I substitute coffee (have had it with rum as well). Also if you are using nuts always toast them first makes a big difference.. as a spin I have tried many different cocoas: ghirardelli, chocolate cherry, special dark and each adds its own flavor and depth..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
ADD 1/2 TSP CINNAMON TO THE CAKE and it goes from awesome to fantastic. With that one exception it's identical to my great-grandmother's. The cinnamon gives it a little extra "kick!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Add Coffee. This is recipe that I have made for many years and we refer to it as sheet brownies. The only difference in this recipe and the one I make is 'coffee'. Brew a 1/2 cup of strong coffee and pour it into the mixture after all the other ingredients are mixed. If you don't, you will in fact have a bit of a flour taste. The other difference I do is I add walnut or pecan pieces to the mixture, not to the icing. I allow the cake and the icing to cool a tad before placing the icing on the cake. I then some times sprinkle just a few crushed nuts atop the iced cake. This makes a lot of portions if you cut it like brownies. I always keep this in the fridge because it taste better cold and will have a bit more firmness. By the way, a real sheet cake is in fact thin.....that is why it's called a SHEET cake. However, if you prefer a thick type cake, you could pour the batter into a smaller pan. Also, I bake this on 350 because I do bake it in a large sheet pan. It would burn up in my oven if I baked it on 400.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Definitely NOT the Texas Sheet Cake recipe I lost. The frosting was terrible and I had to add milk just to get it to spreadable consistency but it still just tasted like powdered sugar. When I found my real recipe for Texas Sheet Cake it calls for 1 cup of butter not a 1/2 cup of butter so I think that was the main problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by historygal22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Great cake. I didn't have buttermilk so I used a vinegar and milk mixture substitute. It worked fine. Definitely sift the ingredients well, including the dry ingredients for the icing. It's delicious with a scoop of icecream on top! I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2013
I've also used this recipe for many years. I use buttermilk for the frosting and for a deeper chocolate flavor use the Hersey's Dark chocolate cocoa. I use pecans for the nuts and place them on top of the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
Exactly like grandma made, I always requested them as those "fluffy brownies covered in yummy frosting"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by id3253

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shawano, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Turned out just like I had hoped and how the other reviews stated. Was exactly what I was looking for in a traditional Texas Sheet Cake. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
Just the recipe I was looking for. Love this cake; great crowd pleaser; easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Azle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
I have been making this for years, but my recipe only uses 1 stick of butter and it turns out great. Great cake!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States