Texas Sheet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Brenna
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2015
Wow!!!! I didn't make any changes at all!! Amazing!!! It is also good to cut into small pieces to eat. Delicious!! Will definitely use again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2015
Used buttermilk for the frosting. Added 1/2 teas of cinnamon to cake batter. And used regular sugar vs powdered, just cooked till melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
This cake is truly delicious. When my sister-in-law visits from Ohio this is the first thing she asks for. It's dense and moist and the icing is killer! It's 5 stars as is but adding a little bit of cinnamon to both the cake and the icing adds extra pop. Best eaten warm with a tall glass of cold milk.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2015
Great recipe that reminds me of my mother's sheet cake she used to make when we were children. It makes a large cake, moist and chocolate-ty! I usually make half with nuts and half without. Make sure to spread batter evenly so the cake will be even.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2014
This was good, but I think when most people saw it they thought it was a large pan of brownies. Until they saw the cake, that is. I would personally prefer the deeper chocolate and the gooey moistness of brownies. But if you are looking for a big thin chocolate cake, give this a try. Oh, I also found that if you let the iced cake cool and then cover it with a piece of plastic wrap, the plastic wrap will not stick but it easily peels off without destroying the icing. (I guess because of all the butter in the icing.)No need to stick toothpicks in the cake to hold the plastic wrap up or any other tricks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2014
This is a good recipe the only thing I do different is when it calls for water I substitute coffee (have had it with rum as well). Also if you are using nuts always toast them first makes a big difference.. as a spin I have tried many different cocoas: ghirardelli, chocolate cherry, special dark and each adds its own flavor and depth..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2013
ADD 1/2 TSP CINNAMON TO THE CAKE and it goes from awesome to fantastic. With that one exception it's identical to my great-grandmother's. The cinnamon gives it a little extra "kick!"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2013
Add Coffee. This is recipe that I have made for many years and we refer to it as sheet brownies. The only difference in this recipe and the one I make is 'coffee'. Brew a 1/2 cup of strong coffee and pour it into the mixture after all the other ingredients are mixed. If you don't, you will in fact have a bit of a flour taste. The other difference I do is I add walnut or pecan pieces to the mixture, not to the icing. I allow the cake and the icing to cool a tad before placing the icing on the cake. I then some times sprinkle just a few crushed nuts atop the iced cake. This makes a lot of portions if you cut it like brownies. I always keep this in the fridge because it taste better cold and will have a bit more firmness. By the way, a real sheet cake is in fact thin.....that is why it's called a SHEET cake. However, if you prefer a thick type cake, you could pour the batter into a smaller pan. Also, I bake this on 350 because I do bake it in a large sheet pan. It would burn up in my oven if I baked it on 400.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
Definitely NOT the Texas Sheet Cake recipe I lost. The frosting was terrible and I had to add milk just to get it to spreadable consistency but it still just tasted like powdered sugar. When I found my real recipe for Texas Sheet Cake it calls for 1 cup of butter not a 1/2 cup of butter so I think that was the main problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by historygal22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
Great cake. I didn't have buttermilk so I used a vinegar and milk mixture substitute. It worked fine. Definitely sift the ingredients well, including the dry ingredients for the icing. It's delicious with a scoop of icecream on top! I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States