Texas Sheet Cake II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
The cake tasted like a chocolate pancake and the frosting was pure sugar. We used only half the sugar on the frosting and could hardly choke it down. Hurt my mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
Great little snacking cake! Great texture in the cake itself, not too light, it was a bit denser and had some body. The cake was very mild chocolate flavor, the icing is what really makes this one great. It gets a crisp outer layer and is very sweet. I added about half a cup of pecan pieces to the icing. I didn't measure them as I only had a little in the sack. I cut this in half and used a quarter sheet pan. Very good and I will definitely make this again! Thanks Diane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
This was a good version of one of our favorite picnic desserts. I've used this recipe several times and we've always enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimberly Baltzley

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
Back when dinosaurs roamed the earth, my college roommate's mom made this for us and was kind enough to share the recipe. As years passed and after several relocations, I lost the recipe. Imagine my delight to find it right here!:) Now I make this again for potluck suppers and family reunions, and everyone enjoys this yummy cake tremendously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: May 26, 2008
This icing is really what makes this cake. I did add an additional tablespoon of cocoa to the cake mix for a more chocolate flavor. Make sure to sift your ingredients so you don't get any "white" specs in your cake or icing. Although this cake is good at room temperature, it's even better refrigerated overnight and served cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
scrumptious frosting...cake-not so good :(...will use the frosting recipe again though...cake had no flavor and was an unusual consistency
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
I was looking for a recipe similar to one I had as a child and this was it! So rich and so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2008
This is great for a big crowd!! I got rave reviews from friends and co-workers and my boys LOVED it!! The frosting is so rich and fudgy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This recipe makes a delicious chocolatey, fudgey cake. It's a down-home-type cake (not particularly elegant) but a lovely way to end a family dinner. This one really satisfies a chocolate cake craving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Great recipe! The only change I made was to increase the cocoa in the cake and the icing by 1 tbsp. each since I like a deeper chocolate flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kendra

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States