Texas Sheet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
This recipe is super tasty. My only issue was the icing was super thick. I started to spread it on thinking since everything was hot it would melt a bit on the cake but that didn't happen. I had to add more milk into it and beat it until the consistency was more pourable instead of gloppy. The rest of the cake that was iced with this new icing was AMAZING and just how I remembered it from years ago. Just a warning, having this cake around will add a few pounds to your body...it's that irresistible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2010
Been making this for years and ALWAYS a hit..cake is always very moist. The recipe I use (and lost) callsf for strong coffee instead of water. Try adding a little cinnamon to the frosting-adds a little something different. I add it to both the cake batter and frosting. I have also used the suggestion to poke some holes in the cake with the end of a wooden spoon before pouring the frosting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TABULADY

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
SO GOOD! I made 1/2 the recipe and baked in an 8x8 pan and it came out great. I did need more milk in icing and skipped the nuts but otherwise followed it exactly. Just what I was looking for, the icing is like fudge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTYSON

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
Took for Easter family get-together. So good that family kept sneaking little pieces all afternoon. They are begging for another a week later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Melissa, Texas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This is the BEST, most Chocolatey Cake ever!! You will not be disappointed! I followed a couple of the reviewer suggestions and added 7 Tbsp of milk to the frosting and 5 Tbsp of cocoa to the cake mix, turned out perfect! This cake is to die for, took it to a teacher's lunch at school - everyone loved it! Highly recommend! It's so easy and sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2009
I've made this so many times I have the recipe memorized and it's the most handed out recipe I have. Can't thank you enough for posting it. The cake is moist, the fudge flavor for the icing is incredible - they literally lick the cake sheet with this one!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M Skye

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wimberley, Texas, USA
Living In: Mendenhall, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I have been making this for years and it is well received. I have a few hints for the icing: Sifting the confectioners sugar will cut down on the stirring time. Using a whisk for the icing will assist in making a smoother icing without the lumps of sugar. Lastly, I like to add 7 Tablespoons of milk. It makes the icing easier to spread. Otherwise I have found it starts to harden before I have spread it over the entire cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
I will have to say, this is by far, the easiest cake to make. In a previous review, they said the cake was "crumbly." I can't even imagine what they did wrong. It's a no brainer to make. My mother made this all the time for a crowd, and it turned out perfect everytime! Delicious taste with the right amount of frosting. Excellent submission and I would highly recommend this cake to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
Many good reviews.. but no one has mentioned one of the most endearing attributes of this recipe. You can make this cake from scratch, and start it at two.. and it will be frosted by three. to me the quick build of this recipe is one BIG thing in it's favor.. It's really sweet too, but you can cut the sugar by some amount, maybe even half... it's still tasty. I love to make this.. but it takes a village to eat it. AnneA
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne Anson

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richland, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Yummy! My family loves this cake. I didn't have all the ingredients so I halved the recipe. I added some heavy cream, oil, brown sugar (I didn't have sour cream), and vanilla. It is moist and yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States