Texas Sheet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2006
Excellent taste and texture. For those of you that are ending up with crumbly cake, you are over mixing the batter. Mix it just enought to get it all blended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hastings, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Have the made the same thing for many years...people love it. Some differences though, I do not use walnuts in the batter for one and bake it at 350 degrees on 11x17 cookie sheet. In the icing I use cream or half & half. Bring the icing to a gentle boils, adding the powdered sugar at the very end just before frosting the cake (which should still be warm).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOCALTED

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2003
Would you like a little cake with your frosting!?! My friend and i made this cake and hated it. the frosting was at least three times as thick as the cake. the cake turnes out extreamly dry and brittle. this also not the easiest cake to make. i would not recommend making this cake for anytype of occasion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2003
I've been making this recipe for many years. This is the cake that Lady Bird Johnson makes for LBJ. Now I figured, if it's good enough for the Ol' Pres, and he's a genuine Texacan...I'll give it a try. I wasn't sorry. Give this a try. Very good. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2002
this was very good. I lost my recipe for Texas Sheet Cake years ago and this taste just like the one I lost.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2010
made this the other night for a school function.. once i had already melted the butter, i realized i only had 3/4 cup of sugar.. so i replaced the rest of the sugar with light brown sugar.. it worked, cause they came out great!! i made the icing just as the recipe calls for, but in half the frosting i mixed in 1/2 cup of walnuts and frosted half of the brownie/cake with plain frosting and half with nut frosting.. great recipe! wish i had some now..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUGARPLUMSCOOKIES

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2002
This was the first time I had ever made Texas Sheet Cake and it was easy and a HIT! Stays moist and is a favorite by many. Will definitely keep using this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
This was incredibly easy and quick---kids loved it, but my husband thought the icing was too sweet and not chocolaty enough. The cake stayed moist for days. The cake came out of the pan well too---I unmolded the whole sheet and used it to make a layer cake---worked very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2003
I halved this recipe without difficulty. Moist, tender cake. Frosting needed significant thinning with additional milk. Clean up very easy. Just a bit too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Good, but icing is very sweet. Next time I will cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 101) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States