Texas Sheet Cake I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
This cake is soooo easy and my mother used to make this cake when we were kids but when she passed away, we couldn't find the recipe, but thanks to Allrecipes I found a perfect match. After reading other reviews I thought I could add some little hints to make this cake a little less crumbly. I followed the recipe to the T, except I add a large box of instant chocolate pudding along with the flour. This keeps the cake moist for days!! When the frosting is hot and the cake is hot, frost the cake and spread over the cake then, Don't wait for cake and frosting to cool. The hot cake and hot frosting traps in the moisture!! Cake will be moist for days!! Thanks to Chantal for originally posting this recipe! You made this Texas Sheet cake lover very happy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2009
I usually dont consider myself a very good baker, but this was the best cake I have ever made in my life! I followed the recipe to a T except used pecans instead of walnuts. Everyone loved it and begged for seconds! Will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dalton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
this texas sheet cake is wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Delicious, soft and very moist. Coincidentally, my mother had alsmost exactly the same recipe. She only made it a few times when I was younger and I hadn't had this in years. The only difference is that hers excluded the nuts and was baked at 400 degrees a little shorter. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
this recipe is excellent, the only thing I change is I use 1 cup of cold coffee for the 1 cup of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AFGRANDMA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Galesburg, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2008
This is a "wow" factor chocolate cake, and since my husband is a chocoholic I know something about chocolate cakes! I make a lot of them! I did add a little extra milk as I was mixing up the icing, but no big deal. That happens a lot with this kind of icing...next time 5 T may be just the right amount! The icing has a rich and very smooth consistency and it looks beautiful. It would be a great icing for a layer cake, not to mention it has a very smooth chocolately taste as well. The cake is moist (didn't over mix it) and the flavor is really good. 5 stars for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rhonda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bella Vista, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2008
Wonderful! A woman I used to work with brought this in for pot lucks and got me hooked. I lost the recipe and she doesn't work with me anymore, I was so glad to find it here! I am not a fan of chocolate box cake but this cake is divine. Moist, full of frosting, nice light cocoa flavor - a winner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
Good, but icing is very sweet. Next time I will cut back on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2008
I forgot to put in the second stick of butter and this recipe still turned out. It is fool proof! Very easy and I got nothing but compliments from everyone
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This is a wonderful, chocolaty dessert. I made this a lot when I was a kid and recently remembered how good it is. I use sour milk instead of sour cream in my recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Millersburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 103) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Peanut Butter Sheet Cake

It’s Texas sheet cake with a peanut butter twist.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States