Texas Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
Yummy, yummy, yummy. This was terrific. If you really like bacon, though, and don't want to add the bacon fat drippings, I'd add more pieces of bacon (crumbled) instead. I also added a bit of Worcestershire for flavour but then I love Worcestershire. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Adding worcestershire to the meat while browning is must
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gigi Nichols

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Clarksburg, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
This recipe would be something that my grandma from the Ozarks would make. It was hearty, flavorful and easy to make. Bacon and its grease isn't an ingredient that I cook with often, while watching my family's fat intake, but it sure makes this combo especially yummy. I will make this again, especially if I'm having my inlaws over for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Beesley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This was very easy and good. The leftovers remained tasty after days. And in a tortilla the leftovers were easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
This receipe was so easy to prepare, and it was just fabulous!!! Great tasting. The WHOLE family said "fix THIS one again Mom" Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Excellent recipe! This was really easy to make, and very delicious. I wouldn't add anything extra or change anything, perfect as is. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
Very easy to prepare. My kids loved this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
My not picky 7 year old and myself were the only ones home for dinner so I decided to give this a try. Cut the recipe in half and subbed garlic salt for the salt. Also used a 14oz can of diced tomatoes. Just right for a kid's taste buds. Next time I'm going to try using leftover rice. Easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I originally found this recipe, under the name Spanish Rice, in an old Betty Crocker kids' cookbook that my grandma's sisters had given to her for a wedding gift (she couldn't cook well when she got married.) This is comfort food for me. I made this when I was a kid, minus the green pepper and the cheese. I misplaced the cookbook, and couldn't remember how to make it exactly, so I was tremendously excited to find it here. It's also good made with diced stewed tomatoes, if you like that taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Love this recipe! the first time I made it I forgot to add bacon but it still turned out great! the second time I added the bacon and even better!! whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States