Texas Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2012
Very hardy dish. I pretty well followed the recipe but made a few changes. I regret to say I forgot to add the bacon, I didn't realize it until the cheese was sprinkled on. I added a can of corn and a can of black beans (rinsed and drained). I am a big fan of tomato products so I used 2 cans of diced tomatoes with chilies. When adding salt and pepper I added a few more spices. I threw in some cumin, chili powder and a little dried red peppers. Ended up with a little zip to the flavor. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Living In: Jasper, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
This recipe would be something that my grandma from the Ozarks would make. It was hearty, flavorful and easy to make. Bacon and its grease isn't an ingredient that I cook with often, while watching my family's fat intake, but it sure makes this combo especially yummy. I will make this again, especially if I'm having my inlaws over for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Beesley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2012
I prepared it as written, and added some ClubHouse TexMex seasoning, but we still found it bland. It needs something else. It was okay, but not very exciting. I will have to tweak it if I make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CountryGirl76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
It didn't tell me whether or not to drain the tomatoes, so I did, and it turned out pretty dry. The reheats are even drier! Just needs a little tweaking I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattawan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
Yummy, yummy, yummy. This was terrific. If you really like bacon, though, and don't want to add the bacon fat drippings, I'd add more pieces of bacon (crumbled) instead. I also added a bit of Worcestershire for flavour but then I love Worcestershire. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
With a few small changes this recipe was reminescent of hash. I used 2 cups of brown rice (left over from previous night). Omitted the bell pepper and can of diced tomatoes. Instead I used an envelop of onion soup mix along with 2 beef boullion cubes and 3 cups of water. After browning the bacon and beef, I added the remaining ingredients and placed in a Crockpot to simmer for several hours. I also used a dash or two of Mrs. Dash. More like a thick soup with the cheddar melting over the bowel... VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna Jeannine Heatherly

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiloh, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2011
good, easy, but not anything to go super crazy about. Take some leftovers and scramble an egg and combine in a flour tortilla. Would make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by briansthecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Love this recipe! the first time I made it I forgot to add bacon but it still turned out great! the second time I added the bacon and even better!! whole family loves it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mamaof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
This made a huge portion. I reduce the meat to 1 pound of ground turkey. I served it with seasoned salt. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
This is a wonderful recipe, very good and easy to make. I'll save this one and make it again, my family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jo Adams

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States