Texas Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2003
This recipe would be something that my grandma from the Ozarks would make. It was hearty, flavorful and easy to make. Bacon and its grease isn't an ingredient that I cook with often, while watching my family's fat intake, but it sure makes this combo especially yummy. I will make this again, especially if I'm having my inlaws over for dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Beesley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Overland Park, Kansas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This was very easy and good. The leftovers remained tasty after days. And in a tortilla the leftovers were easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
Yummy, yummy, yummy. This was terrific. If you really like bacon, though, and don't want to add the bacon fat drippings, I'd add more pieces of bacon (crumbled) instead. I also added a bit of Worcestershire for flavour but then I love Worcestershire. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
This receipe was so easy to prepare, and it was just fabulous!!! Great tasting. The WHOLE family said "fix THIS one again Mom" Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
I didn't think this was anything special. It needed lots of spicing up, pretty bland otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Excellent recipe! This was really easy to make, and very delicious. I wouldn't add anything extra or change anything, perfect as is. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
Very easy to prepare. My kids loved this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
My not picky 7 year old and myself were the only ones home for dinner so I decided to give this a try. Cut the recipe in half and subbed garlic salt for the salt. Also used a 14oz can of diced tomatoes. Just right for a kid's taste buds. Next time I'm going to try using leftover rice. Easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
This was ok - I thought it was kind of bland and too tomatoey - it kind of had a metallic taste to it. I didn't put in the green pepper because I don't like it. And I couldn't taste the bacon even though I put in about 8 slices. If I made it again I would skip the bacon, put in one can on Mexican tomatoes and maybe mix 1/2 c pepperjack cheese in with the cheddar to give it some zip. I took it to a potluck and a few people ate it so it worked out ok and filled our tummies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I originally found this recipe, under the name Spanish Rice, in an old Betty Crocker kids' cookbook that my grandma's sisters had given to her for a wedding gift (she couldn't cook well when she got married.) This is comfort food for me. I made this when I was a kid, minus the green pepper and the cheese. I misplaced the cookbook, and couldn't remember how to make it exactly, so I was tremendously excited to find it here. It's also good made with diced stewed tomatoes, if you like that taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States