Texas Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
It was'nt horrible or nothing but it was'nt good. Bland - nothing special about it - I would not make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
I originally found this recipe, under the name Spanish Rice, in an old Betty Crocker kids' cookbook that my grandma's sisters had given to her for a wedding gift (she couldn't cook well when she got married.) This is comfort food for me. I made this when I was a kid, minus the green pepper and the cheese. I misplaced the cookbook, and couldn't remember how to make it exactly, so I was tremendously excited to find it here. It's also good made with diced stewed tomatoes, if you like that taste. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
This was ok - I thought it was kind of bland and too tomatoey - it kind of had a metallic taste to it. I didn't put in the green pepper because I don't like it. And I couldn't taste the bacon even though I put in about 8 slices. If I made it again I would skip the bacon, put in one can on Mexican tomatoes and maybe mix 1/2 c pepperjack cheese in with the cheddar to give it some zip. I took it to a potluck and a few people ate it so it worked out ok and filled our tummies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOONNOODLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA
Living In: Republic, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2004
My not picky 7 year old and myself were the only ones home for dinner so I decided to give this a try. Cut the recipe in half and subbed garlic salt for the salt. Also used a 14oz can of diced tomatoes. Just right for a kid's taste buds. Next time I'm going to try using leftover rice. Easy and yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2004
Very easy to prepare. My kids loved this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2004
Excellent recipe! This was really easy to make, and very delicious. I wouldn't add anything extra or change anything, perfect as is. A must try!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
I didn't think this was anything special. It needed lots of spicing up, pretty bland otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by readernut

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hermann, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
This receipe was so easy to prepare, and it was just fabulous!!! Great tasting. The WHOLE family said "fix THIS one again Mom" Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2004
Yummy, yummy, yummy. This was terrific. If you really like bacon, though, and don't want to add the bacon fat drippings, I'd add more pieces of bacon (crumbled) instead. I also added a bit of Worcestershire for flavour but then I love Worcestershire. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This was very easy and good. The leftovers remained tasty after days. And in a tortilla the leftovers were easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States