Texas Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
With a few small changes this recipe was reminescent of hash. I used 2 cups of brown rice (left over from previous night). Omitted the bell pepper and can of diced tomatoes. Instead I used an envelop of onion soup mix along with 2 beef boullion cubes and 3 cups of water. After browning the bacon and beef, I added the remaining ingredients and placed in a Crockpot to simmer for several hours. I also used a dash or two of Mrs. Dash. More like a thick soup with the cheddar melting over the bowel... VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by medtype1

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shiloh, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2010
Very bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2010
This was very tasty. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
I did not care for this. I found the dish to be not very flavorful, the only tasty part about it was the cheese on top. I couldn't taste the bacon in it at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2008
It didn't tell me whether or not to drain the tomatoes, so I did, and it turned out pretty dry. The reheats are even drier! Just needs a little tweaking I guess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mattawan, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2008
Family ate it, but didn't seem to like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JanMcD

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waynesburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Great comfort food and easy to make! I added and 1/2 cup extra cheese and bacon rather than drippings. Makes great leftovers too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eureka, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
3 stars for me, means pretty average. This dish is basic and good, but not great. If you need variety and something for a quick family meal, then give this a go. I added corn and shredded carrots for additional nutrition.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
Was a fairly quick and easy supper. I used 15 oz. tomatoes and about 6 oz. of salsa. Also added some chili powder, dried cilantro, and about 1/2 cup of frozen corn. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2006
It was'nt horrible or nothing but it was'nt good. Bland - nothing special about it - I would not make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Broccoli, Rice, Cheese, and Chicken Casserole

See how to make the ultimate one-dish broccoli and rice casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States