Texas Ranch Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2012
I really liked the idea of this one, but had to do last minute damage control with extra seasonings/salt. It might've been good with two packages of ranch dressing mix. I used half mayo and half sour cream, as other reviewers recommended. You'd think this would be tasty considering the ingredients that go in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
We recently found a BBQ joint nearby that had the most out of this world potato salad... I've always made mine with mayo and mustard, but went on a search for a recipe that compared to their potato salad... Who would have thought it was this simple??? I did half and half mayo with sour cream, and also added some chives in... Sprinkled some paprika on the top and YUM!!! Thank you so much, this is now how I will be making potato salad!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
This was great, everyone at the dinner party said so. I didn't get a chance to have any, it all disappeared from the bowl before I had a chance to have any. Afterwards everyone was asking me how to make this. I made two adjustments to this recipe, first I used a cup of sour cream and a cup of mayo instead of two cups of mayo, and instead of bacon slices I used Pancetta. Next time I make this I'll set aside some for myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ice_On_Soul

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2012
Not bad as a guide to build upon but I found it necessary to tweak some things to make it more palatable to me. First, out of curiosity, I weighed the amount of bacon called for in the recipe. Whoa. Lots of bacon – too much for me! I think I used half that. Also, as I’ve never been a fan of straight mayonnaise in this type of salad, I cut it with sour cream. I thought it needed some contrast in texture, so, as the expression goes, I added some celery “for a little crunch.” As for the dressing, I found it a little weak. Since I made just a third of the recipe to begin with, I gratefully had some of the dressing mix left over, so I added more, along with some fresh ground pepper, dill weed and garlic powder. Finally, since I knew the salad would absorb some of the dressing as it chilled, I added some half and half to compensate. A fair amount of tweaking, I admit, but it elevated this from a wimpy three to a four star potato salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2012
I have had this recipe a few years and for some reason I just realized I never rated it. This is my FAVORITE potato salad recipe. It's perfect as is. The only change I make is to use chives instead of green onion-- just personal preference. The family requests this now at big gatherings and it makes my grandmother jealous-- she has always considered herself the potato salad queen! Anyway--YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA
Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
yet another great potluck recipe! very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIREBRAND95

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
omg!! this is so good!! never any left when i take it to get-togthers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2012
Very good except I used 3 lbs potatoes not 5. Seems like it would have been very dry with all 5 lbs. Also, per other reviewers, used 1 cup mayo and 1 cup sour cream. I was afraid it would be too salty with the ranch dressing mix and bacon, but it was not. Next time I'll use a little less potato. (I added the dressing while the potatoes were still warm so maybe they absorbed more dressing than cold ones would have.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
I made this for Thanksgiving, my super picky potato salad loving dad requested this over our traditional potato salad recipe and my husband who hates mayonnaise liked it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Carrollton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
We loved this potato salad version! super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 278) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States