Texas Ranch Potato Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
Used the 1/2 mayo sour cream. When potatoes were hot added 1/4 cup olive oil and mixed. Keeps the potatoes from being too dry, also added cayenne pepper and salt as needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2014
Perfect for summer picnics. I followed the recipe exactly and it was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2014
Hubby and picky toddler approved! I used low fat mayo and low fat ranch dressing mix, plus turkey bacon. Huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2014
Not bad! I'll forever be a sucker for Donna's red skinned potato salad-turned loaded baked potato salad (compliments of a fellow reviewer's inspiration!), but this is a close second. I did have to make a few changes to get the WOW factor tho.... I started by cubing my potatoes into large chunks (I basically quartered medium-sized red potatoes), boiled for 8 short minutes and chilled as directed. I then mixed equal parts lite mayo / sour cream instead of using all mayo. My final change was to add a couple small chopped celery ribs and a generous handful of shredded sharp cheddar cheese (I wouldn't add the celery next time, but that's just me). NOTE: I halved this and ended up using the full amount of dressing called for. My potatoes seemed a tad dry without it but of course, this could be because I added a few extras. :) Since eight servings was far too much for my small family to consume, I gave a "to-go" container to my neighbor (she loves Ranch ANYTHING!!!). I was right. She absolutely loooved this and begged me for the recipe! Thanks for making me look like a cooking goddess, 8BREAK. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
i make this with bottled low fat ranch dressing and less mayo. some family members do not care for onions so I use a small amount of minced onions and they plump up during the blending of flavors. sometimes i add shredded cheddar cheese too. you can cut the amount of bacon to about half and add a little pepper. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Ho Hum, but as a base + all other comments make it GREAT !!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I've used this recipe for years. My family loves it, and, frankly, it's easier than classic potato salad. As we are vegetarians, I omit stirring in bacon and allow people to add their own measure of bacon flavored bits at the table.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
Very good but I mixed the dressing while the popatoes were still warm and it absorbed into the potatoes better, added bacon just before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Indialantic, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I too like a sour cream and mayo blend. I alway put the mayo in the potato salad while the potatoes are hot. It absorbs the flavor much better. I add the bacon right before serving so it will stay crunchy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Easy to make and was very good.Well make it again.Glenn
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 279) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Southwestern Potato and Corn Salad Dinner

This tasty veggie-centric meal only tastes expensive!

Authentic German Potato Salad

See how to make traditional vinegar-based potato salad with crumbled bacon.

German Potato Salad

This tasty German-style potato salad is served warm.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States