Texas Ranch Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
I have a recipe almost identical to this one. For those who had problems or disappointments; This is what you do: Season all sides of chicken pieces(and yes bone in chicken works!!) with salt pepper and garlic powder; or use your fave seasonings. Place in shallow dish or bowl; and use the dressing as a Marinade! and marinate for at least one hour. Then line a baking dish with foil(dull side up)remove chicken from dressing and place in foil lined pan. Then top each piece with cheese after about 45 minutes..parmesan works best for me, and return to oven for 15 minutes until lightly golden brown. Prepared this way makes it a 5 star! PS>>remove skin from bone-in chicken pieces**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDY76541

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2003
After some modifications, we really enjoyed this recipe. The first time I made it, I followed the recipe exactly, and we weren't very fond of it. We thought it was rather greasy and the ranch taste was pretty strong. However, I liked the idea of it, thought it was a good blend of flavors, so I decided to attempt it again. The second time, I poured enough ranch dressing into a skillet to coat the bottom, then placed the chicken in the pan and cooked it fully on top of the stove first. Then I put the chicken in an ungreased baking dish and covered it with mozzarella cheese and placed it under the broiler until it melted. This time we had a winner!!!! We really enjoyed the meal and will have it again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by caliboo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2004
I make this recipe once a week, combining many of the suggestions of other raters. I use a quick spray of Pam, then put chicken breast tenders in my baking dish, or if I'm cooking for more than my husband and myself, I use whole chicken breasts, which I flatten by pounding. I sprinkle powdered ranch dressing (Hidden Valley makes one) over the chicken, and thanks to someone's idea, put Hormel Real Crumbled Bacon on top of that. My husband loves spicy stuff, so I chop up jalapenos and put that on top of the bacon bits. I cover my chicken with foil and bake at 325 for 45 minutes, uncover and top with a combination of mozzerella and cheddar cheese, then put back in the oven, uncovered, for another 15 minutes. This is the easiest dinner to fix, and it's so delicious. The chicken is so tender and juicy. I just made it, without the jalapenos, for my 80 year old mother and my 96 year old grandmother, and they loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
REALLY GOOD w/ a few changes. Spray w/Pam, not oil . Before I added Cheddar, I layed a slice of Armour Dried Beef(in the small jar). It made for a real boost in taste. Use 1/2 sour cream/Ranch. The grave/sauce is wonderful. This is an easy,good recipe w/much potential to "do your own thing". I also like it w/green pepper slices & a little garlic powder. Thanks for the keeper recipe,Jan!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2003
I have always made a recipe similar to this using 4 to 6 boneless skinless chicken breast. I fry my chicken in a skillet on top of the stove with ranch dressing poured on top. I don't measure anything. It only takes a few minutes. I top it off with mozzarella or fresh grated parmesan. Doesn't need the oil. It's great! My kids also like to eat it on a nice hard roll for sandwiches. I work in the food business and sometimes have to create recipes and believe it or not this also tastes great on talapia fish. I melt butter and garlic and add the ranch dressing to make a sauce, then add the fish and top with more ranch dressing and parm. or mozz. cheese or no cheese at all. Fry till it flakes easily. You wouldn't believe how much it sells when made like this!!! Ranch dressing is great on alot of things! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2004
This was a very EASY & tasty dish! I took a suggestion from the other reviewers and used a bit of cooking spray to coat the pan rather than olive oil. I also used turkey tenderloins instead of chicken and used a Light Ranch dressing. My kids and husband devoured it and I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
Good taste and very easy to make. I use low-fat ranch and skim mozarella, otherwise the recipe is LOADED with fat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2003
I thought that this recipe was pretty good. I think next time I make it I will change it up just a little though. I recommend using pretty small/thin chicken pieces, I used breasts and they were really too thick for this recipe. I would probably try the sour cream version as well even though I did like the ranch okay. One thing I did do differently was I topped it with crushed season croutons and it made for an awesome topping!!! I also used Italian cheese blend and cut back a little on the olive oil. It was pretty good for the amount of ingredients and time to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kearney, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2003
After reading the recipe, I thought it needed some color (everything was white) so I browned the chicken just a bit on both sides, and threw in some green pepers and 1/2 jalepeno to saute with the chicken. I then mix a bit of tabasco with the ranch for an added kick, and added a bit of cheddar for extra color. This recipe was sooo easy, and VERY good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2002
Yummmmmmy and Easy!!!! I used a "lite" ranch dressing which might have kept it from being too strong (a good thing) and also used Pizza shredded cheese - mozzarella and cheddar. My boyfriend loved this too. The chicken was VERY moist but fully cooked. This is surely a future repeat!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Breaded Parmesan Ranch Chicken

Just five basic ingredients, and chicken dinner’s ready in less than an hour.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

King Ranch Chicken Casserole

See how to make a cheesy chicken and corn tortilla casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States