Texas Ranch Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
Love it love it love it! So simple, big hit with my husband, have made it and variations of it ( different cheese, different salad dresings) at least once a week, helps to make chicken interesting again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by New Wife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2006
My son could live on chicken with ranch dressing. He wasn't thrilled with this. Everyone else thought it was just okay. I think maybe breading the chicken and browning it first might help...would take a little longer than the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bay City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
I was a little torn on this recipe.. it was a little bland in a very 'ranchy' sort of way. I added some cheddar cheese and black olives to give it some color. While we weren't super exited about the recipe, my husband and I were both ok with it. I'm going to keep this in my book for a couple of reasons. A) NO effort to make. B) I pretty much always have these ingredients (or something very close) available. This will be something I fall back on when in a crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2006
I have a recipe almost identical to this one. For those who had problems or disappointments; This is what you do: Season all sides of chicken pieces(and yes bone in chicken works!!) with salt pepper and garlic powder; or use your fave seasonings. Place in shallow dish or bowl; and use the dressing as a Marinade! and marinate for at least one hour. Then line a baking dish with foil(dull side up)remove chicken from dressing and place in foil lined pan. Then top each piece with cheese after about 45 minutes..parmesan works best for me, and return to oven for 15 minutes until lightly golden brown. Prepared this way makes it a 5 star! PS>>remove skin from bone-in chicken pieces**
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDY76541

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waco, Texas, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
Amazing!! Easy, quick, cheap and tasted amazing. Everyone wanted more (even the picky 3 year old) I only used 1 cup of cheese on top and thickened the sauce (which was a little thin) with 1 tb of corn flour (starch) in 2 tb water. Will definately make again, thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
Delicious. I used cheddar cheese instead of mozzarella. Came out a little tangy. Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Washington, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Bellmawr, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
The sauce was very tangy... I think I will halve the dressing in the future and maybe add cracked pepper to cut the sourness. I used chicken breasts and had to cook it for about 70 minutes at 375 degrees (add cheese for last 20 minutes).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Not bad, but did need some more flavor. Added a bit of garlic salt and a little grated MOnterrey Jack with jalapenos. Might need a little less Ranch dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Dallas, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
Great quick recipe! I was looking for an easy recipe for some chicken breasts and this was it. I did season the breasts with garlic salt, onion powder, and fresh ground pepper before adding the Ranch dressing. I only put enough dressing to lightly coat the breasts, no where near what was in the recipe. Cooked for 30 minutes, added the Mozzerella and some Sharp Cheddar until it looked like enough and let it melt. Husband and son both liked this recipe. I, the one who prefers dark meat chicken, actually ate two of the very juicy breasts...the first time I've ever actually finished a chicken breast in my 42 years!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2006
WE FOUND THAT THIS RECIPE WAS VERY, VERY RICH. SOME MAY LIKE THIS AND IF YOU ARE PLANNING TO TRY IT WITH BONE-IN CHICKEN...DON'T. THIS IS WHAT I HAD AND WHAT I USED AND IT DOES NOT WORK OUT WELL AT ALL HAVING TO COOK THE DRESSING THAT LONG. WE WILL TRY IT AGAIN WITH THE BONELESS, SKINLESS CHICKEN BREAST THOUGH, BEFORE WE GIVE IT A NO GO FOR US.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 234) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

King Ranch Chicken Casserole I

Check out this Texan-inspired chicken casserole.

Breaded Parmesan Ranch Chicken

Just five basic ingredients, and chicken dinner’s ready in less than an hour.

Bacon Ranch Chicken Skewers

See how to make extra-easy and delicious barbequed chicken kabobs.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States