Texas Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This recipe is scrupdillyishus!!! So easy too! Just follow the directions. I rate this five stars plus!!! P.S. don't take the final cooking over 242 degrees, it will get too hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2002
Very good taste, but DO NOT try to make these in humid weather, they will not get solid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
This recipe came out very well for me. It reminds me of a local treat here in Austin, Lammes "Texas Chewie" Praline, except it's a little lighter in color. Also, I used a silicone mat to set the pralines on and it worked great. If you haven't ever worked with sugar before, be ready to stir for a while to get it up to temperature - it's not a quick thing - but it's worth it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
These are the best pralines I've tasted. They remind me of the pralines made by Lamme's Candies of Austin, Texas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2004
I'm not sure why, since I double checked the recipe amounts, but the pralines never hardened. I had a tray of soupy pecans on my hands. I salvaged it by spooning the pecans onto graham crackers and drizzling them with chocolate. They tasted great - just not sure why they didn't harden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Suffield, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I've made this several times with PERFECT results every time. Something I have learned over the years making candy...you are wasting your time (and ingredients)making candy when it's humid or raining...the candy will NOT set up. Also, I cook these to 240 because they continue to cook while you are stirring in the nuts. These are perfectly buttery, soft, and absolutely the right texture for pralines! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
Absolutely the best chewy pecan praline I've ever had. My new all time favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
WOW! What a great recipe. It worked perfectly and I am thrilled. A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Great recipe. Next time I might try dark corn syrup instead to give them a darker color. They turned out great and tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
I have made these twice now and both times they came out excellent. Never made candy much before but I followed the recipe to the tee and everyone raved how they couldn't stop eating them. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENELSON6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States