Texas Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2007
I went exactly by the recepie and it wouldn't set up! Tasted ok but i had to go with another recepie to get it right. It would probably make a good topping for ice cream lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2006
This recipe deserves a 5, but the directions as given make them wayyyy too firm for my liking. They were excellent when heated to "soft ball" or just below on my themometer. 238 degrees was the magic number for me. They got firm enuff while maintaining a glorious chewy caramel texture. I ended up making a few batches b/c my husband kept sneaking and eating them!!! B/c the recipe calls for soooo much butter I didn't dare use cooking spray, parchment lined baking sheets worked just fine. I'm thinking maybe one less stick would be sufficient, but hey if you're going to do it, u might as well do it! ;) I'll be using this recipe for years to come!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shrinking Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
I have made pralines before and thought I would give this receipe a try, a huge mess, would not set up. I had to toss the entire mess in the garbage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Maria, California, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
Didn't not set up. They stayed really sticky. It was a total waste of pecans and my time. If I would have known they wouldn't firm up, I would have made a sauce instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
My wife and kids loved these. I think they are better then the store bought Georgia pralines. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
I have made these twice now and both times they came out excellent. Never made candy much before but I followed the recipe to the tee and everyone raved how they couldn't stop eating them. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENELSON6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Great recipe. Next time I might try dark corn syrup instead to give them a darker color. They turned out great and tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
WOW! What a great recipe. It worked perfectly and I am thrilled. A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
Absolutely the best chewy pecan praline I've ever had. My new all time favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie Phillips Thomas
Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I've made this several times with PERFECT results every time. Something I have learned over the years making candy...you are wasting your time (and ingredients)making candy when it's humid or raining...the candy will NOT set up. Also, I cook these to 240 because they continue to cook while you are stirring in the nuts. These are perfectly buttery, soft, and absolutely the right texture for pralines! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States