Texas Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
the best tates just like lambs candies in austin texas loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alex mcgrew

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gold Bar, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
Though these taste delicious there is something wrong with the timing. Also, I didn't know if I was supposed to stir the sugar and corn syrup when first put in the pan or to just let it get to boiling point. I let it sit. then after adding the rest of the ingredients, it took an hour of stirring or more, actually it took about an hour and a half of stirring to get it to 242 on candy thermomiter. I'm surprised if they do come out. I tasted some on the spoon and it was really goood. I was very disappointed about how runny they were. Not sure I'll go to all this trouble again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
I made this recipe as written. It turned out wonderful. After adding the cream and butter it did not look as if it would mix but as it heated up it mixed well. It took at least 35 minutes to heat back up to the 242 degrees. It turned out smooth , creamy and golden. I made a big mistake and used wax paper to drop it on. I tried to pull one off and it was a terrible mess. I put them outside for about 10 minutes ( which was 8 degrees ) and they got solid enough to pull off, actually making wrapping them easier. Very simple to make and I would make them again. Thanks...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2008
Perfect... I have been looking for a chewy recipe for years. Very similar to the one found in Candy Making for Dummies. I spooned them into miniature silicone muffin cups and they came out great. Created more of a thick patty versus spread out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I make these whenever I am homesick for Austin, Texas. They are very close to Lamme's, a hometown tradition... The recipe is great, all except for one thing...they don't last long enough! We find ourselves fighting over them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Claxton, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
Excellent recipe! You'll need an accurate candy thermometer. People who've given this a low rating for not setting up, check your thermometer! The reviewer who said to be careful not to boil higher than 242 is right as they'll get too firm. I've made this recipe dozens of times and these are delicious! It is time consuming but so worth it. You can come very close to Lamme's pralines if you use mostly dark Karo and brown sugar. I wrap them in cellophane and put them in my candy boxes for Christmas gifts---the hard part is keeping my husband and sons from eating them first!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
I did like these. They weren't as terribly sweet as hard pralines usually are. However, they're somewhat hard to eat--they get stuck in your teeth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2008
Just what I was looking for. A CHEWY praline. I made half the recipe as it makes a lot. Made this twice now and both times was very good. The 2nd time I put the butter in with the sugars initially and came out with a darker praline (caramel color). Took temp. up to 245 degrees the 1st time. Took off heat and let it cool to about 230 and then slowly added the whip cream (did this because I accidently put butter in too early and figured you put it in later to cool down the mixture for the whipping cream). Anyway, returned to heat, and cooked to 242 degrees. Removed from the heat. Let it cool in the pan about 10 min. stirring occasionally and it thickens so doesn't spread out so much when placed on pan. Be sure and use parchment paper, makes it so easy to remove. Makes the most buttery, chewy caramel type praline. Excellent flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly and ended up with an expensive mess. I live in WI so I know it wasn't an altitude thing. Don't know what went wrong as I did everything the recipe said and ended up with a sheet of sticky carmely pecans that may have been suitable for ice cream topping but that's about it. There has to be a better recipe out there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I made these once while it was raining and put in one can of sweetened condensed milk and had some of the best pecan caramel you would ever want to taste. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donisha B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States