Texas Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2005
I have made these twice now and both times they came out excellent. Never made candy much before but I followed the recipe to the tee and everyone raved how they couldn't stop eating them. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ENELSON6

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2004
These are the best pralines I've tasted. They remind me of the pralines made by Lamme's Candies of Austin, Texas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2002
This recipe is scrupdillyishus!!! So easy too! Just follow the directions. I rate this five stars plus!!! P.S. don't take the final cooking over 242 degrees, it will get too hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
This recipe came out very well for me. It reminds me of a local treat here in Austin, Lammes "Texas Chewie" Praline, except it's a little lighter in color. Also, I used a silicone mat to set the pralines on and it worked great. If you haven't ever worked with sugar before, be ready to stir for a while to get it up to temperature - it's not a quick thing - but it's worth it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2004
I've made this several times with PERFECT results every time. Something I have learned over the years making candy...you are wasting your time (and ingredients)making candy when it's humid or raining...the candy will NOT set up. Also, I cook these to 240 because they continue to cook while you are stirring in the nuts. These are perfectly buttery, soft, and absolutely the right texture for pralines! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
Absolutely the best chewy pecan praline I've ever had. My new all time favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vickie Phillips Thomas
Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2004
WOW! What a great recipe. It worked perfectly and I am thrilled. A new family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2005
Great recipe. Next time I might try dark corn syrup instead to give them a darker color. They turned out great and tasted even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2005
My wife and kids loved these. I think they are better then the store bought Georgia pralines. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I made these once while it was raining and put in one can of sweetened condensed milk and had some of the best pecan caramel you would ever want to taste. Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donisha B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States