Texas Pralines Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I have never made pralines. Is this the way they are supposed to taste? CAUSE THEY ARE GREAT!!! First friend I shared one with wanted the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Windsor, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2013
I have made these twice now. Once in December and now again in August. Made them exactly as written and they have turned out beautifully both times. I understand that it is dry here in Wyoming so maybe that has helped. We love Texas Chewies and these are a close substitute!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Cody, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I used a regular eating spoon to drop these onto buttered wax paper and made 75 which changes the calories to about 192 each candy. I can't keep these in the house. The kids eat them up fast! *love* this recipe! Not grainy, nice smooth chewy and easy enough for a beginner. Takes an hour though not 30 min!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2012
The ingredients in this are correct, but it will take MUCH more time than is posted and you cannot rush it. Also, it makes MUCH more than 2 sheets of aluminum foil on 2 pans will hold...prepare 4. And make sure it is a LARGE sauce pan...the mixture will expand as it bubbles and cooks down somewhat. I agree with one of the other reviewers...240 is the proper temperature, not higher as it continues to cook and will go beyond the caramel stage. But don't attempt this without a candy thermometer or you will either have rock hard pralines or runny ones. They do taste remarkably like Lamme's Pralines!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mintconditionherbfarm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
These are delicious caramel pralines. I used less pecans and cooked them at a lower temp. Other than that I topped them with melted Guittard Milk chocolate to add calories. HA! They were a big hit and a fun change from the regular New Orleans Pralines that I make. All in all a fun recipe. (You can use parchment paper to cool them on and halve the recipe.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Boring, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Love this, easy to make & taste great! Will make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Mc Kinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2011
i was able to cut this recipe in half and it turned out great, the first time i used all butter and it was too buttery for me so i used 1/2 marg and 1/2 butter the second time and it was great. I love this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Clarksville, Texas, USA
Living In: Conroe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2010
My dad wanted me to make this for him. He received the recipe from a client. The taste is GREAT. Not too sweet. Love the butter. It did not get 5 stars because it was a bit runny. I think that the next time I make it, I will add some cornstarch or flour to thicken it just a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Buschee62

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
Turned out runny. But tasted good. Don't know what went wrong. :^( Maybe I'll try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Heber City, Utah, USA
Living In: Park City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
the best tates just like lambs candies in austin texas loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alex mcgrew

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Gold Bar, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Mardi Gras King Cake

Make the famous New Orleans cake with the surprise inside!

Southern Pecan Pie I

See how to make the sweet, nutty pie that's a true Southern staple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States