Texas Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2004
This recipe was to die for. Everyone that ate it was raving about it. For all you crock pot fanatics...I made this in the crock pot. I prepared the dry rub as instructed and left in the fridge over night. The next morning, I loaded all of the ribs into a big crock pot. Then I prepared the BBQ sauce cold (no stove or oven work) and just poured it over the ribs. Cooked in the crock pot on low for 10 hours. They were incredible!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
320 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2006
These ribs are amazing. Being a true Texas boy, I love all things BBQ, all things pork, and all things spicy. With this recipe, though, you need to customize the amount of cayenne for your audience. I'm one to increase the amount of cayenne in any recipe, but in this one it was just right for me--which means that it would be too hot for some people. There is too much sugar in the recipe unless you are cooking at least 3 racks of ribs--I would reduce it by half if cooking 1 or 2 racks. Finally, there is no need to make the BBQ sauce. The ribs are so flavorful that any BBQ sauce will be in the background. I used a store brand sauce, and it was just fine. The recipe is definitely one to try. If you need more cayenne, then add it at the end. UPDATE: I finally decided to try the BBQ sauce in this recipe and wish I hadn't. Even a generic store brand of sauce would be better than this sauce. Don't waste your time on it. Oh, and it makes enough for about 10 racks of ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
136 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Temple, Texas, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: May 14, 2003
These were great, even though we didn't throw them on the grill due to rain. In the rub I used kosher salt and cut the black pepper to 1 1/2 Tablespoons. I used 1/2 teaspoon ground chipotle pepper in place of cayenne (LOVE the smoky flavor of chipotle peppers). I would probably up the chipotle peppers if not cooking for children. I used 1 1/4 tsp. ground chipotle pepper in the sauce. My spareribs were St. Louis cut, which are just regular ribs with the breastbone and the adjacent strip of gnarled meat removed. I think the ribs cook more evenly and are definitely easier to cut when done. Mine were moist and tender after about 3 hours and I fear they might have dried out after any longer. The best way I have found to test ribs for doneness is to pick up the center of the ribs with tongs. The ribs shoud flop down and a skewer inserted inserted between the ribs should meet little resistance (thank you chef Steve Johnson and Fine Cooking magazine). My husband and daughter liked these better than ribs I have slaved over over. This is an excellent, easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2003
Great, versatile recipe! My husband used to work at a rib joint and is very choosy about his ribs - he said these were among the best - and to top it off, it was my first attempt at BBQ ribs! I've used this recipe several times now and I love being able to tweak the rub ingredients (less pepper, more cayenne, etc.), depending on who's going to be eating them. UPDATE: THis rub also makes for a *killer* pork roast and roasted chicken! I use this rub so often now, I make a monster batch of rub about once a month and keep it in a huge canister on my kitchen counter so a couple scoops are always handy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2007
Wow! Really good! I am only rating the dry rub as I didn't bother with the sauce - the ribs were so moist and sticky that I didn't feel I needed it. I followed the recipe but only used 1/2 of the cayenne. It had a bite but wasn't really hot so I'll probably use more next time. Also, I used 1 cup white sugar and 1/2 cup brown. Then I wrapped packages of 4-5 ribs in foil pouches and baked them all at about 250 for 3 1/2 hours. I unwrapped them and placed them on a rack (over a pan) in the same oven for about 30 minutes, to dry out a bit. So excellent and gooey! One big suggestion - this recipe makes ALOT! I cooked 8lbs of ribs, both pork and beef, and had fully 1/2 of the rub mix left. So I saved it in a ziplock and have used it twice more, on some boneless pork ribs, and spareribs. It'd be ashame to waste this rub so either make a smaller amount, or be prepared to store it for further use, (sprinkle it on - don't contaminate it with meat juices). This will be my dry rub from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2005
I am a BBQ rib fanatic, and have tried many recipes to grill my ribs, and was looking for one filled with flavor, that could be served spicy or mild, and would fall off the bone after grilling....WOW did I ever find one...Everyone that tries "my" new rib recipe says its the best ever, and I totally agree...This is one fabulous , yet simple, recipe...ENJOY !!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
my husband usually makes the ribs but, of course, i had to try to get one up on him, hehe...as alot of other reviewers i did not bother with the grill or the sauce. (we keep my husbands homemade sauce on hand)WOW, this rub is what makes the ribs people!!! i have used it on chicken breasts(bone-in )and tonight on pork chops in the oven because i was just too tired to use my original chop recipe and didnt feel like going to the store for a couple things. this rub will be a staple in our house from now on. thanks for a wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBROWN998

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2003
Really simple rub ... best one I have had. Didn't try the bbq sauce used bottled one but turned out great. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2002
My mom and I invited my fiances family over for the first time (for my fiances b-day party) and we were nervous about the food. We used this recipe because it had so many great reviews. We put the rub on a day in advance and used masterpiece HOT AND SPICY BBQ sauce. We doubled the recipe and put 1/4 teaspoon canyanne pepper and 1 teasppon chili powder. The ribs were a hit they were so tender they were falling off the bone. Sweet and spicy, just delicious. Christopher's mom and grandma said that it was the best ribs they ever had in thier life. Thank you for the wonderful rib recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
I usually don't attempt ribs as they never turn out. Well, those days are no more! True, you do have to marinate for a long time (I did mine overnight) but they are very tasty. This just takes a little planning ahead. We cooked our five and 1/2 pound ribs for 3 and 1/2 hours total. Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Prize Winning Baby Back Ribs

Spice-rubbed ribs get the slow-cooking treatment over indirect heat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States