Texas Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Didn't need any sauce. This was my first time making ribs and I'm not going to look for another recipe. I used smoky paprika, but was a little short of the amount needed. I didn't grill them at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2009
The rub was amazing! Did not make sauce. Plenty of leftover rub to use on other dinner nights!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Hollywood, Florida, USA
Living In: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2009
Very Good!!! Sauce unnecessary. I used "sweet baby rays" bbq sauce and it was just as good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valerie D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
I absolutely loved these. And I made them in the crock pot! They were so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2009
We really loved this recipe. There were a lot of steps to follow, but it was well worth it in the end. The meat just fell right off the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Krissy Kay Metcalf

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
My ribs were moist and delicious! Exactly what my husband was looking for, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cdodrill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
We used this recipe with our July 4th weekend. The rub is easy to make and very flavorful. We ran out of Paprika and substituted chili powder instead for 2/3 the amount of the Paprika. We cut it down a little because the Chili Powder is more powerful and we have 2 family members who cannot handle the hot spices. The rub made the ribs very flavorful. However, the sauce which is created is too ketchup based. In addition, it made more sauce than the amount of the ribs. The next time, I will use this recipe for the rub only. In place of baking in the oven, we set it in the same pan we would have used in the oven but on the grill. We cooked the ribs at 275 to 300 for 2.5 to 3 hours. Then took the ribs out of the pan and placed directly on the grill. Because of the sugar based rub, watch carefully as the ribs will burn easily. Cooked with hickory chips and it was just like eating world class ribs at a rib cookoff. We will use this recipe (for the rub) again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Greensburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I tried out the rub and the cooking method with this recipe. I had made ribs only once before this recipe and they were a disaster. Not any more! The rub is to die for, and the cooking method was very simple and good. I used chipolte and jerk pork seasoning the first time I made the rub instead of cayenne and paprika as it was all I had on hand. The second time it was made as stated in the recipe. Both were very good. Rub seems to be versatile, don't be afraid to experiment! Try to finish ribs on grill though. It makes ribs to have the sauce bake on and the edges get a little crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I used babyback ribs. I didn't marinate them. I just put the rub on the ribs, added a little beer to the bottom of the crock pot and cooked them on low for 4 hrs and then on high for another 4 hrs. Took them out and cooled them for two hours. Didn't use the BBQ sauce from recipe or from bottle. We like them dry. Finished them off by warming them back up on the grill for 10-15 min. I made this for Father's Day. I made extra and my family and guests ate every little bit and wanted more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Great recipe! My daughter doesn't normally like ribs (I used boneless spareribs.) She really liked this. I baked mine then put on the sauce and broiled them in the oven. The flavor is great. We all loved them. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 256) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Prize Winning Baby Back Ribs

Spice-rubbed ribs get the slow-cooking treatment over indirect heat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States