Texas Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2013
These are just really wonderful, you can't go wrong using this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JOULEC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
Followed directions to the letter. Left in fridge for 24 hours. Way too much sugar, the drippings were carmalized and couldn't use in basting/sauce recipe. Put the rib rack in between the two burners to brown up with grill at 300 for 10 mins. Flipped the rack and nothing but burnt rub. Had to cut off the burnt sugar and wasted half the rack of ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I made this recipe several different ways (starting with the original), and they're all delicious! As written, it's too hot for my taste, so I cut down on the black pepper, and leave out the cayenne, plus I use a different barbecue sauce, as this one was WAY too thin - I prefer Sweet Baby Ray's but your favorite (good quality) BBQ sauce will do. I've also discovered that slow cooking this is perfectly suited to the ribs, I let them sit refrigerated in the crock pot with the rub overnight, start it on "low" in the morning, then, an hour before serving, drain out the accumulated juices, and add the BBQ sauce and let simmer. Best ribs EVAH! Serve with big green salad and hot sourdough rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Centerville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
these were amazing. followed other's suggestions and only did the dry rub. didn't need sauce at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
Yeehaaaaaw! My husband forgot to season and prep the ribs for dinner one night and when I found them in the fridge the next morning, I had a sense of dread in my belly... I HAD TO SEASON AND PREP! Being that I'm a newbie at cooking, something like ribs is intimidating to me, and so I wanted to find an easy and hopefully tasty recipe for ribs. Eureka! This one was it! Easy-peasy ingredients that I already had at the house, and all I had to do was mix the dry ingredients and slap them on the ribs? Oh yea. That easy. I'll tell you that after I rubbed the spices on, I only left it in the fridge for about 2.5 hours and I baked in the over for another 2.5 (I poured a little Blue Moon beer in the pan so they wouldn't dry --not that they would have dried, just any excuse to use beer, i guess), and then the hubby grilled them for about 5 minutes using store-bought sauce. Perfecto! The fam loved the flavor, hubs was impressed that I was able to prep said delicious ribs, and me? I'm feeling pretty good about rubs and ribs now! (p.s. I did alter the amt of sugar -used a little less- and it was still GOOD and sweet)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2012
This was amazing!! I made them for a crowd, they are worth the effort. Everyone is still talking about them being the best they've ever had (restaurants included) - it's been about a year and we all live in Texas, so you know we love our ribs! I didn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I did make a couple of changes of my own on the rub not major;) after marinating the ribs in the rub for 24 hours in the refrigerator I put them in my Brinkman smoker and kept apple wood and hickory smoke on them, for an hour or two. I cooked them low and slow at around 225 degrees about 6+ hours I also put my own barbeque sauce on them for the last hour and half. The family said they loved them. Yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
I found this recipe on allrecipes.com in 2004 and have used it since then. These are great, fall off the bone, good. I don't use the BBQ sauce because I don't think they need it. Good, good, good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
This was an excellent recipe, halfed the recipe for 2 full racks of baby back ribs. Followed all the instruction past the 3-4 hour bake time. Placed on BBQ for 10 minutes, and basted with Roasted Raspberry Chilpotle Sauce from Costco. Absolutely wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Aberdeen, Aberdeenshire, Scotland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Prize Winning Baby Back Ribs

Spice-rubbed ribs get the slow-cooking treatment over indirect heat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States