Texas Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2011
I had several guys telling me these were the best ribs they have ever eaten, better then restaurant ones. I only make it in the crock pot so they are very soft and juicy. I don't use the sauce, just prepare them with a rub and serve a store bought sauce on a side for anybody who wants sauce. Probably prepared this recipe 10 times within the last 2 years. Became a family hit. Now we make it for every family reunion and other gatherings as well. I make one rack as directed and another one less spicy so people have an option. I love this cause it's so easy as well. I onlcy cooked it in the crock pot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
Okay, this recipe is waaaay too spicy. I am a big spicy person too. It takes away the flavor from the pork and over powers it with sauce. Additionally, it is too sweet and too salty. This would make a good beef jerky rub sauce but not for pork ribs. The sauce is good though. The rub is not. I will not be making this again. I suggest soaking the ribs in beer (Guinness). My girlfriend (super hot) likes these ribs though. She also is very nice and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2011
I followed the rub exactly as written, but I did not make the BBQ sauce. I found myself wishing that I had doubled or tripled the amount of cayenne. The flavor and tenderness of the ribs was fantastic though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2011
I made these ribs and they were AWESOME. (I did use bottled BBQ sauce though).. the flavor of the meat was amazing and they were so tender and moist! For sure a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
A tad salty but fall off the bone good. Excellent
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Henderson, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Kalida, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2011
These were absolutely awesome! My 4 year old twins loved these. Wouldn't change a thing. I did cook them in crock pot for 10 hours on low... super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kiron, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
This could be done in the oven too, just add some liquid smoke to the ketcup mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Camrose, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2011
Made these twice for two large family gatherings in one week. Super easy and ribs can be done in two short steps:(1) Dry rub and wrap each rack in foil and marinate on cookie sheets or in roasting pan in fridge overnight. (Meat will leak).(2) Cook the ribs the next day. Toned down the spice of the rub bc my family doesn't like overly spicy foods by only using about 2 scant teaspoons of ground black pepper. Also only used 2 TB of salt. Generously coated ribs with the rub, wrapped in foil and let marinate overnight. Still in foil, baked the ribs at 225 degrees for 4 hours. Because we were grilling other meats, finished the ribs in the oven. Removed the foil, poured Sweet Baby Ray's sauce liberally over the ribs and let finish in the oven at 325 for another 45- 60 minutes until ribs look brown and pull away from the bone and sauce is carmelized. Can re-cover with foil and keep in oven with temp. off until serving (I left about 30 minutes) -holds very well. Serve with more sauce if desired. All LOVED-including kids. Has replaced my previous rib recipe and is now in my "official" cookbook :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
This is by far one of the best rib recipes that I've tried. They fall right off the bone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brittney

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bradenton, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2011
This is my favorite ribs recipe. It takes a long time to make this recipe, but it's worth it. Every time I make it, everyone loves it. On occasion just to save some time, I've used store bought BBQ sauce instead of making it from scratch and they still turn out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Prize Winning Baby Back Ribs

Spice-rubbed ribs get the slow-cooking treatment over indirect heat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States