Texas Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
BBQ sauce is a bust! I really don't think the BBQ sauce is anything special (tastes more like ketchup than anything else). I do, however, LOVE the dry rub. In my first attempt I was only baking 1 rack of ribs and the 3-4 hours uncovered *really* overcooked/dried out the ribs. So if you're planning cooking half of the ribs, just plan to bake in the oven for about 1-1 1/2 hours *covered*. After that you can throw it on the grill for 20-30 mins (or until done to your liking) and you'll be set.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Washington, D.C., USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2008
Super easy!!! I am so amazed at how incredibly easy this was and it was a huge hit. I didn't do the BBQ sauce because it was sticky and saucy enough. I ended up with extra rub, which I put into a ziploc bag for a later date. My husband and son loved this recipe and I will absolutely use this again. Followed the recipe to the letter except I did double the cayenne pepper, but don't do this unless you can handle the spice. Thanks for a wonderful recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
From one Texan to another....oh my gosh these were soooo good! I followed the spice rub exactly, let them sit and baked them as directed. I was running short on time so we just put the ribs on the grill and "sauced" them with store-bought sauce for the last few minutes. They were so tender and delicious. A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Loppy
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
It is a very nice and easy recipe. Not sure I used too much salt as my second attempt taste a bit too salty! I will definitely try that again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loppy

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2008
amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Slog

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
my husband usually makes the ribs but, of course, i had to try to get one up on him, hehe...as alot of other reviewers i did not bother with the grill or the sauce. (we keep my husbands homemade sauce on hand)WOW, this rub is what makes the ribs people!!! i have used it on chicken breasts(bone-in )and tonight on pork chops in the oven because i was just too tired to use my original chop recipe and didnt feel like going to the store for a couple things. this rub will be a staple in our house from now on. thanks for a wonderful recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBROWN998

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
Yep, these ribs are the best!!!! I didn't use wood chips in the grill and forgot to add cayenne to the sauce, but oh man, we couldn't get enough of these. I cooked them in the oven for about five hours since we are at 10,000 feet, and I loved the way the crust was a little like jerky and the inside was soooo tender and flavorful. Better than the restaurant! Don't bother with any other recipes! Oh, and like another reviewer, you need to cut the sugar in half if only cooking one or two racks. 1.5 cups was way too much for my 5 lbs spareribs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2008
We just made these for a bbq and they were a huge hit with our guests. We'll absolutely make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Lorenzo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2008
Just made this one. It was amazing. No need to change anything. Had to broil inside because of the weather and was still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cooks4fun

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
These were SO good! I did not marinate the ribs in the spice rub as suggested, just rubbed them and threw them in the oven; they still turned out great. The only change I made to the sauce was to cut all ingredients in half and used more of the pan drippings than called for (probably 1/4 cup); I also cut the ingredients in half for the spice rub (I used 1 large rack). The ribs were absolutely fantastic, but we thought the sauce was just ok...it was really ketchup-y even though I added about 1 tsp of hickory liquid smoke flavouring. So I will definitely make the ribs with the spice rub again, but probably won't use this recipe for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 258) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Prize Winning Baby Back Ribs

Spice-rubbed ribs get the slow-cooking treatment over indirect heat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States