Texas Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Only used the recipe for the rub, totally amazing! We even had a pretty lousy cut of meat but it transformed it into a huge treat. We'll use this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I use this rub from this recipe on baby back ribs and they are always a hit. Slow baking is the key and you don't need to use the grill at all. For party appetizers, I have also cut the ribs apart, rubbed the mix on, chilled and then broiled them. Napkins are still necessary, but the individual ribs are easy to eat while you're holding a drink in your other hand. Gotta keep the men happy at cocktail parties! =) Oh, and this makes a lot of the spice rub. 2/3-3/4 of a batch is plenty enough for the specified amount of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I am only rating the rub part of this recipe. We just bought a smoker and I had no idea how to make a rub so this fit my needs perfectly! I scaled this recipe to 8 servings since we had four pounds of pork ribs. This still made enough to cover both the ribs and a four pound brisket also even though we spread it around very generously! I followed the directions exactly except for adding onion powder and using 3/4 cup white sugar with 1/4 cup brown sugar. This created such a nice crust on the ribs while they cooked in the smoker! Everyone raved about them at our Labor Day party although the cayenne pepper does make this pretty spicy! We love spicy, but if serving to kids I might tone it down a bit next time! I think this is a wonderful rub and I will use it on more than just pork ribs in the future! FYI: I agree with SDALLENHOU and doubt I will ever make the sauce part of this recipe. It doesn't sound very tasty and actually although we served these ribs with homemade BBQ sauce, we loved eating them with just the dry rub!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
This was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2010
I made this for a BBQ with some friends and everyone loved them. i love the rub and sauce. i have since used the sauce on chicken breast and it was fabulous!! will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
I think it was good but a little spicy. I would like it if it was a sauce instead of a dry rub. I made it from 11:00 to 6:30. I should have started it the night before. I think you should too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Firefox530

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Portola, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2010
Delish! Everyone LOVED them! he sugar created a fabulous glaze. I didn't make the bbq sauce, just bought and served on the side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2010
Best ribs I've ever cooked!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Awesome Rub! Great flavor. There are a few things to be careful of.1st, you will have PLENTY of rub so don't double it if you are doubling the recipe. 2nd, The cooking time is too long. The first time I made this recipe I WAY overcooked at 3 1/2 hours, the second time they were ready for sauce @ 2hours and 45 min with 14 lbs in the oven. And 3rd, with or without sauce they are great. I skipped this sauce and used "Bone Sucking Sauce" from the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dawn Aiono

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2010
Although I am a vegetarian and have never personally eaten these ribs, I have made them more than once for friends and family. Everyone LOVES them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 260) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Prize Winning Baby Back Ribs

Spice-rubbed ribs get the slow-cooking treatment over indirect heat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States