Texas Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2011
Delish! Cut back sugar in the rub to 1 c. and changed the sauce ingredients/amounts as it sounded too "ketchupy." Used 1-1/2 c. ketchup, 1 c. Presidents Choice BBQ sauce and 2 c. water, and did not add the sugar at all. Plenty of sauce (lots left over) and it was the best! Did not go the grill route, but poured sauce over ribs in the roaster and baked in oven for about 30 mins. Would definitely make this again with these modifications but next time would do the sauce/bake for a full hour or up to 1-1/2 hrs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2011
It had potential but it turned out soooo salty it was not edible. I think the 1/4 CUP salt must be a misprint. I would try 4 teaspoons of salt instead of 4 tablespoons!! Also, the 6 lbs of spareribs should have been written as 12 lbs of spareribs!! I'm curious as to how so many people did not have the same, extreme saltiness problem I had. Thank goodness I did not have guests over at the time I served this! I would love to try it again with the appropriate revisions. It smells delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
OMG! My husband is a big BBQ fan and comes from a long family tradition of No Carolina pulled pork (Pig Pickins') bu he raved about these! He woke me the next morning at 4:30 am to tell me I should make these for sale!! Love them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Orchard, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
These were absolutely delicious- the best ribs I have ever tasted and so easy to make! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AmandaM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
I will never make ribs any other way ever again! They were juicy and delicious, the rub was fantastic and a great compliment to the sauce. This recipe made me look like a cooking genius! Definitely worth the extra time it takes to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2010
I love these! I have made them several times and are always a hit. I cover them when I back them in the oven. The first time I didn't and they dried out. You can also instead of grilling them pour off the excess liquid out of the pan and just pour the BBQ sauce directly over them and bake them at 350 degrees for another 45 min to an hr. they will brown lightly and they just fall off the bone. This is a good way to do them when you don't have time to stand over the grill. EXCELLENT!!! Also I like a thick bbq sauce.. I don't put the water in the sauce.. I drain the liquid off the ribs in the oven and add just enough to thin it down a little.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2010
fantastic rub! my boyfriend (from Texas) & i LOVED & DEVOURED EVERY BIT OF THESE...moist meat and a thick flavorful bark...no need for sauce! i have made these 2x in just 3 weeks. im keepin this recipe for sure :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2010
Only used the recipe for the rub, totally amazing! We even had a pretty lousy cut of meat but it transformed it into a huge treat. We'll use this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
I use this rub from this recipe on baby back ribs and they are always a hit. Slow baking is the key and you don't need to use the grill at all. For party appetizers, I have also cut the ribs apart, rubbed the mix on, chilled and then broiled them. Napkins are still necessary, but the individual ribs are easy to eat while you're holding a drink in your other hand. Gotta keep the men happy at cocktail parties! =) Oh, and this makes a lot of the spice rub. 2/3-3/4 of a batch is plenty enough for the specified amount of meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2010
I am only rating the rub part of this recipe. We just bought a smoker and I had no idea how to make a rub so this fit my needs perfectly! I scaled this recipe to 8 servings since we had four pounds of pork ribs. This still made enough to cover both the ribs and a four pound brisket also even though we spread it around very generously! I followed the directions exactly except for adding onion powder and using 3/4 cup white sugar with 1/4 cup brown sugar. This created such a nice crust on the ribs while they cooked in the smoker! Everyone raved about them at our Labor Day party although the cayenne pepper does make this pretty spicy! We love spicy, but if serving to kids I might tone it down a bit next time! I think this is a wonderful rub and I will use it on more than just pork ribs in the future! FYI: I agree with SDALLENHOU and doubt I will ever make the sauce part of this recipe. It doesn't sound very tasty and actually although we served these ribs with homemade BBQ sauce, we loved eating them with just the dry rub!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 257) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Prize Winning Baby Back Ribs

Spice-rubbed ribs get the slow-cooking treatment over indirect heat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States