Texas Pork Ribs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
I tried out the rub and the cooking method with this recipe. I had made ribs only once before this recipe and they were a disaster. Not any more! The rub is to die for, and the cooking method was very simple and good. I used chipolte and jerk pork seasoning the first time I made the rub instead of cayenne and paprika as it was all I had on hand. The second time it was made as stated in the recipe. Both were very good. Rub seems to be versatile, don't be afraid to experiment! Try to finish ribs on grill though. It makes ribs to have the sauce bake on and the edges get a little crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I used babyback ribs. I didn't marinate them. I just put the rub on the ribs, added a little beer to the bottom of the crock pot and cooked them on low for 4 hrs and then on high for another 4 hrs. Took them out and cooled them for two hours. Didn't use the BBQ sauce from recipe or from bottle. We like them dry. Finished them off by warming them back up on the grill for 10-15 min. I made this for Father's Day. I made extra and my family and guests ate every little bit and wanted more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
Great recipe! My daughter doesn't normally like ribs (I used boneless spareribs.) She really liked this. I baked mine then put on the sauce and broiled them in the oven. The flavor is great. We all loved them. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
I have made this recipe on two separate occasions and I have received rave reviews. I have since mixed all the dry rub ingredients in a large quantity so I can always have it on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gilroy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2009
I'm a believer! I was ready to give up on making ribs. I tried this one (my last!) and am I glad did. Waaaaay too much salt tho!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nita Longo Weimer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jeannette, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2009
Altered dry rub recipe with 1/2 cup brown sugar and only 1 cup of white sugar. Used bottled BBQ sauce. It turned out phenominal!! No need to go thru the process of making homemade BBQ sauce. My overly-picky 4 yr old and myself a grumpy 40yr old enjoyed this meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2009
This was excellent!!! The only change I made was I dumped everything in the crockpot because I didn't think ahead to marinate the ribs. They were tender and tasty, fast and easy. I'm sure they'd be even better on the grill, but crockpot gives you more options and is easy for a mid-week family dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cedar Rapids, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
5 stars for the rub! I either use a bottle of store-bought sauce or none at all (the rub is that good!). The only change I make is using brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This rub was amazing. I had 2 racks of pork loin ribs and the amount of rub was excessive. I was glad to have made such a large batch because now I have used it for pork loin chops and plan to use it on chicken as well. I doctored the sauce up a bit - adding some mustard powder, Worcestershire sauce and some red pepper flakes. 3.5 hours in the oven was all the ribs needed - I even skipped the grill step just basting them in the oven a couple of times. This ribs were amazing. I will be making them again! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Amazing!!! You have to try these 10 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Balch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 259) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Tender Pork Spare Ribs

What's cooking in Austin? Kerri's fall-off-the-bone pork ribs.

Chef John’s Hoisin Barbecue Pork Ribs

A simple, Asian-inspired marinade, dry rub, and basting sauce for pork ribs.

Prize Winning Baby Back Ribs

Spice-rubbed ribs get the slow-cooking treatment over indirect heat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States