Texas Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2006
I added almond extract into the cherry pie filling and sprinkled 1/2 cup brown sugar over the fruit. I followed the advice of Mommaward and mixed the melted butter into the cake mix. I only used 3/4 cup butter, sprinkled about 1/2 cup pecans over all, did not add coconut. It was delicious. Nice crunch on top, cobbler-ish in the bottom. I will try it with peach pie filling. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2002
I also am from Texas and we call this "dump cake". I have altered it a bit for my tast. I put the cherry pie filling in the pan with the pineapple and mix together. Melt one stick of butter and mix in with the cake mix. Makes it crumbly. Then crumble over the filling. Pecans are optional. Bake until brown. Turns out perfect every time. Other pie fillings are good too or fresh peaches(great).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Maud, Texas, USA
Living In: De Kalb, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2003
I submitted this recipe. There is a mistake on the coconut. My grandmother use to make this all the time and she used a can of angel flake coconut. This is also very good with strawberry pie filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
We all thought this was awful. It was just a batch of bad tasting slop. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
In the Southeast (I'm from Tennessee), we call this Cherry Surprise and make it like this: Grease baking dish, dump 2 cans cherry filling into it and spread out evenly, evenly distribute about 2 cups whole pecans on top of the cherry filling, spread the cake mix out evenly on top of the pecans, and slice 1 stick of butter into thin pieces and distribute evenly on top of cake mix. Bake for one hour at 350 degrees. Very easy and delicious result! *Every* time I make this, people ask me for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Winona, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2005
This dessert is HEAVENLY!!!!!! It was so easy to make too! My kids enjoyed putting the dessert together. I cant wait to try it again. definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Overland Park, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2002
Great pie! I only used 1 cup of coconut and then sprinkled about 1/2 cup brown sugar over the cake mix before baking. Ummm! I think it would be better without the pineapple and instead use two cans of pie filling. Will try peach and apple in the future. Awesome crust for any cobbler!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2001
I made this recipe for a company picnic and it turned out great. People went back for seconds and thirds. Very easy to fix and only one pan to clean. I thought that the 21/2 cups of coconut was a little much, next time I will cut the amount down, but this is a keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2006
i dont get it - the cake mix is sprinkled dry over the fruit and covered with melted butter, so youd think it would absorb the juices and bake through all buttery like a cobbler - not.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2006
This is a great recipe. I did add an extra can of pie filling which causes the baking time to increase to over an hour or the cake mix will not be done throughly. Also used butter instead of margarine to increase nutty flavor...this is not a low cal desert anyway...very TASTY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Cherry Pie with Almond Crumb Topping

Amazing cherry pie or incredible topping for vanilla ice cream? You be the judge.

Chef John's Chocolate Pecan Pie

A few chocolate chips will take rich, gooey pecan pie to amazing new heights.

How to Make Chocolate Pecan Pie

Put a sweet, chocolate twist on classic pecan pie with this recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States