Texas Lizzies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2000
I'll bet you didn't know you were a hero and saved my life...or at least $40 worth of glazed fruit, nuts and other ingredients. I made an "Easy, Light" fruitcake recipe in a 20 qt stock pot. Scaled to 10 cups flour, 1 lb buter etc. The only thing they were good for was weighing down a body thrown overboard. I salvaged the fruit and nuts by 'squishing' the bricks in warm water and used them in YOUR recipe. HEAVEN!!! They were WONDERFUL!! I can't thank you enough.. I even substituted burgandy for whiskey in the second batch because I ran out, and they were still great. Oh, thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
This was an excellent recipe! I substituted 1/2 cup of jamacian rum instead of whiskey, a 450gram container of fruit glace instead of cherries, and a cup of coconut soaked with the rum instead of pecans. My whole house smells great and the cookies are yummy, even though I overcooked the first batch a little crispy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2005
this is a great recipe! If you are looking for more rum flavoring try soaking the nuts too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
I didn't add the candied cherries but they were still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICOLE518

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mount Prospect, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2007
Wow! This is a wonderful recipe; and has been a big hit in my family (even for those who are disgusted by fruitcake). Though, instead of the red and green candied cherries, I used a candied fruit mix because that's what my husband brought home from the store (candied fruit isn't the easiest thing to find, afterall). Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stephanie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Roanoke, Indiana, USA
Living In: Baraboo, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGELGIRL94
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I HATE FRUITCAKE!!!!! But these cookies are absolutely delicious! I used green candied cherries and candied pineapple and soaked them in whiskey along with the raisins for about an hour. I also toasted the pecans before baking. I only baked half of the batch and served the cookies at Christmas dinner. A few days later,by popular demand,I was baking the rest of the batch. These cookies are so moist and chewy. They have become a permenant part of my holiday baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Danville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Reidsville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I am re-reviewing this recipe as I needed to make them again. I followed the recipe exactly except somehow all of the "Jack Daniels" at my house went missing. I searched through the liquor cabinet and the only rum I had was a bottle of hot cinnamon rum and it did not sound like it would work. I had some brandy, Seagrams 7 and Crown Royal (but not enough of any of them to use without mixing). I sniffed everything I had left and settled on Southern Comfort. I soaked the raisins as directed and proceeded with making the cookies. I cannot believe I like them better. Since I am taking them to a wake, I am calling them "Comfort Cookies".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mcdonough, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
This is a great Christmas cookie. I like all the candied cherries, nuts and raisins. My Mom made fruitcake every Christmas which explains why I like this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
The reviews here seem pretty mixed; either they love them or they hate them. If you don't like the after-taste of whiskey, you're not going to like these. Also, fresh ingredients are very important. I, and everyone in my family, loves these little gems! Soft, moist and flavorful with various textures.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
Not well liked. The flavors did not seem to mesh well
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niles, Michigan, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Texas Sheet Cake V

This dense chocolate cake is moist and delicious. And it couldn't be easier!

Terry's Texas Pinto Beans

This hearty, spicy bean stew is so easy and totally delicious.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States